Daily Archives: January 31, 2006

A Call for Prayers

This is Small One.

We very nearly lost him a few Christmases ago due to a kidney infection that caused partial organ failure.

He’s sick again.

He’s not AS sick as he was last time – I think we may have caught it earlier – but I can tell he’s not well. He was vomiting earlier, and my Mother’s Intuition tells me that it wasn’t normal, hairball sort of vomiting. Plus, he’d taken to hiding out under the bed. He’s NEVER under the bed – he’s always front and center, where all the good lovin’ can be had.

I called the vet. At eleven o’clock at night. She heard his history, heard his symptoms, and told us to bring him in.

Not first thing tomorrow. Now.

Husband – kind, loving, insomniac Husband – is driving him to the clinic as I write this.

Could you clear a spot in your prayers for my kitten, please? I understand that he’s 14 and that cats don’t live forever, but I’m not ready to let him go yet.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Farewell, Fair Lady


I feel the need to recognize the passing of Coretta Scott King, yet I find I am quite without sufficient expression.

I am the beneficiary of so much of the work she and her husband did. I got to grow up in an era where racial violence didn’t touch my environment, where I could recognize and embrace my cousin (whose father was a strong, proud black man) and where I get to raise my children in the belief that we ARE all created equal.

I live in a very, VERY white part of the United States. All my neighbors are caucasian. With the exception of one or two kids of Asian descent, all my students are caucasian. I understand, in an intellectual way, that there is still much work to be done.

I honor those who began the process.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Wouldja Just LOOK at THAT!!

Isn’t that GORGEOUS!?

We finished putting up the wall cabinets last night. Isn’t it fabulous? Husband wants to take the corner cabinet off again and do something to the wall so that it sits more evenly, but the big point is that they’re all put together, they’re all up, and they all FIT!

YIPPEEE!

We have to wait for the electrician to come and move the outlet that’s not quite behind the oven cabinet – that may not happen until next week. After that happens, if I understand the sequence right (which I’m not guaranteeing) base cabinets get assembled. The one that goes to the left of the oven cabinet has to be put together first, I gather, so that a wooden face plate can be screwed to it to box in the fridge. Once all the base cabinets are put together, we put together the island, then buy a stovetop and get someone in to measure for counters.

I’ll post more pictures by this weekend – things are humming right along now.

WOO HOO!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Teaser…

I have a lot to post – pictures, even – but no time to do it right now. Writing here is on my list of things to do when I get home from work this afternoon (along with laundry and some light grocery shoppping), so come back tonight and see if I managed…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized