Daily Archives: July 11, 2006

NOOOOOOOO!!!!

It seems that the lightning strike of earlier today zorched my TiVo!

I am distraught!

I am bereft!

I am a mild state of panic! (okay, so maybe not-so-mild)

Husband came home from work this evening and tried to fix the thing, but found that he couldn’t. He went immediately on eBay and bought a new power supply – it should come on Friday. If that doesn’t fix the problem, we will go online Friday afternoon and buy a new TiVo box. We agreed, two weeks after we got the box many, many years ago, that if anything ever happened to it, we would IMMEDIATELY buy a new one.

Yes, it’s that important.

oh, yeah – the lightning also fried my garage door opener, but do I care about that?! No! It’s all about the TiVo, People!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Grace’s Lilies

A lovely reminder of my great-gramma Grace, growing in my own back yard.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

All Charged Up

We had some really good thunderstorms rumble through our neighborhood this morning. I knew they were coming – I’d flipped on the Weather Channel while crunching down my bowl of Special K and saw an ugly red and green line trooping through my state on its way to my little corner of it – and Husband went across the street to warn the men working on our neighbors’ roof that they may want to consider taking a break in about an hour or so.

They are grateful he did.

The storm started much like they all do; the air got thick, the light turned an alarming steel-grey color, and rumbling could be heard in the distance. Then the distance wasn’t so distant anymore. I was in the midst of an IM conversation with Kizz about how sad I am that Vanx won’t be blogging anymore when a lightning strike hit my yard. I felt (and tasted – weird) the thing and the light and sound were coincidental and instantaneous. I jumped and gasped, the girls – who were sitting beside me on the couch – both screamed.

I managed to recover the situation (and not allow a fear of thunderstorms to take hold in my girls) by jumping up and clapping. I was geninely excited, so it wasn’t artificial attempt to soothe the girls and they knew it. I reminded them that we were all safe – then opened the garage door to let all the cats in to show them that THEY were all safe. Of course, this abruptly ended my conversation with Kizz as my entire house – and, I’m betting, my entire neighborhood – were quite without power.

It turns out that the lightning did not strike in my actual yard, but it did hit the pole that delivers power to my actual house. Observe:

See those two top wires? Both of them lead directly into my house.

Yikes.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Motive and Opportunity

So, here’s the scene. It’s 8:15 or so in the morning, and I’m helping Beanie put butter on her English muffin. As we’re chit-chatting and I’m speading, I hear something small drop to the floor. I look down to see Beanie’s cutie little face smiling sheepishly up at me, and a red M&M rocking to rest by her feet.

“Are you eating M&Ms?” I ask.

“Um….well….kinda,” she replies.

I eye the jar of M&Ms, just within her reach, and ask “when did you get a chance to steal M&Ms?”

“Well, Daddy went outside to meet the counter guy and, well, I only took a few.”

She’s SUCH my child: she saw her opening, and by God, she TOOK it!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized