Crisis Mode

Remember what I said about how sorrows come?

I may not post for a couple of days. I just wanted to give you a heads-up.

I received a phone call this morning that began, not with “hello,” but with “EVERYONE’S FINE!”

I HATE those calls. That line is NEVER followed by good news.

It seems there’d been a fire at my mom’s house very, very early in the morning that did some pretty substantial smoke and structural damage. Everyone is alive, though I think, at this point, that saying that everyone’s “fine” is asking a bit much.

The firemen who were on the scene said that we were lucky that my mom and step-dad survived; he said that incidents like the one they experienced usually result in death by carbon monoxide poisioning or smoke inhalation, often before people have a chance to wake up and realize that something’s wrong. My step-dad did end up taking an ambulance ride to the hospital, but was deemed fit enough to be released almost right away. I am thanking the Universe that they are (relatively) alright.

While I was listening to mom tell me what happened, my phone rang. It was my husband, crying. His best friend, Dudley, had just called to say that his ex-wife was killed this morning in a car accident. This woman was my friend, though we had grown apart from each other since her divorce from Dudley, and I’m still trying to come to terms with the idea that she’s died.

I called Dudley to offer up our support for him and his two nearly-grown sons. “We can be on a plane in two hours if that’s what you need,” I told him, and he said he might just take us up on that. If we’re called to friend-duty, I’ll be away for a bit.

I just wanted you all to know…

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Crisis Mode

  1. Oh, i am so sorry about your friend and his ex. I hope he will call you if he needs you.
    I am glad your mom and step-dad are okay, although that’s pretty damned scary.
    take care.

  2. Wow! I am so sorry. I remember reading about Dudley here before. And I’m glad your folks are OK.
    Take it easy, and I will be by to see how things are going.

  3. Pingback: Birthday Love « The Blue Door

Leave a Reply

