Ten Things Tuesday

Holiday Edition!

1. It is entirely possible for us to host 11 people for dinner in our newly expanded house. Not only is it possible, it is quite enjoyable – though I did wish I had a bigger dishwasher.

2. My movie collection was expanded yesterday to include What Dreams May Come (I have the book, but wanted the movie, too), the first seasons of The Muppet Show and 24, Amistad and the Die Hard Trilogy!

3. A well-brined, 22 pound turkey will roast to a safe internal temperature in just under three hours.

4. I have 13 hours of holiday music on my iPod.

5. I did not give my husband his “winner” gift this year, but I was party to its being purchased for him. On my suggestion, his dad gave him a gorgeous reproduction of an old fashioned map of the world, which will be framed forthwith and hung on a vast expanse of empty wall in the dining room / library.

6. The chocolate bread pudding was a winner. I’ll post the recipe tomorrow.

7. I learned that it is vitally important to line a pan in which one bakes homemade cinnamon rolls with parchment paper. I was only able to extract one bun, and the pan was a nightmare to clean.

8. My sister received a bottle of Crown Royal from MeadMaker, so I got to try whiskey for the very first time. I liked it quite a bit, and may obtain my own bottle some time in the not so distant future. I don’t remember which blogger made the “chocolate and whiskey”comment, but I can see now why that would be considered a treat…

9.  Pistachios are VERY addictive.

10.  It was a most excellent holiday celebration here at Chez Chili and, though I’m thoroughly exhausted at the moment, I’m very, very glad we were able to do it.

5 Comments

Filed under ten things Tuesday

5 responses to “Ten Things Tuesday

  1. Hi,

    I took the time to read through all your posts. Several things struck me. First my condolences on the loss of your friend. She sounds like a wonderful person.

    I also feel the way you do about marriage. My wife and I have been married nearly 20 years, and neither of us can imagine just walking away. A close friend that I met via blogging had that happen to her seven years ago and she is still hurting.

    I have found that different WordPress templates offer different text sizes and options in sidebars. The cool thing is that you can go to presentation and switch between templates instantly to see which one you like best.

    Glad you had a Merry Chrsitmas.

  2. Welcome, Brian! I hope you like what you see here enough to keep coming back.

    Thank you so much for your kind words. My friend was a wonderful person – full and complicated and funny and radiant. I will miss her.

    While I stand in dismay as I watch marriage after marriage fail around me, I wonder what makes us so different, and that worries me. Did you watch Mad About You, with Helen Hunt and Paul Reiser? In that show, their best friends got divorced, and it freaked them out. “If it can happen to them, it can happen to us.” It’s that that has me feeling a little vulnerable. We are no better or different than any other couple – so what it is that has kept us so close and happy for over 15 years?

    I might take your advice about switching templates, but not just yet. I’ve got a bunch of friends who don’t really like change very much, and I want to give them a chance to get used to having me here before I change the look on them.

  3. So glad the hosting was a smashing success!

    Just so you know, every time I read “library” in your description of your home, I cry a little inside of jealousy :-)

  4. I’m sorry, Snob. I’ll try not to rub it in.

    My former self is EXCEEDINGLY jealous of my present self. The geeky in me is just LOVING that I’ve got a library. Oooh! I almost forgot – Husband got me software to help me catalogue all my geeky! I’m so lucky!!

  5. Auntie

    I have to tell you that I have never seen a woman take a sip of Crown for the first time and not make a funny face or spit it right out. I was super impressed that you took the first sip, thought about for a second than took another. I am so proud of you! I have been bragging about you to my friends!
    I had a nice time. Job well done. I’m off to eat the left overs now!

Leave a Reply

