Setting Off a Talk Bomb

Sometimes, my kids crack me up (oh, who am I kidding – they crack me up ALL the time!).

So, my husband was busy explaining the genealogical history of AT&T. Because Mac is coming out with the iPhone and because my husband desperately wants an iPhone, and because iPhones are going to be on the Cingular/AT&T Wireless network, he wanted to find out what was what and who was who. He was explaining all of this to me while the children were finishing up their hot cocoa, when Beanie asks how companies buy other companies. That prompted a detailed scenario about “Beanie’s Lemonade” being bought out by “Mama Leone’s Juice Company,” and that prompted a conversation about how companies buy out other companies with a combination of cash and stock (I was a little unclear on how that works). It was a regular marketing class in our dining room, and I was really kind of loving it.

Then Punkin’ Pie comes out with this COMPLETELY tangential comment about “wouldn’t it be interesting if you set off a bomb and said something and then wrote it down in a journal and traced where it went?”

There was stunned silence in the room. We had NO idea what the hell she was talking about.

Apparently, a “talk bomb” is a bit of conversation that leads to a lot of other conversations. She tried to explain it to us, and the best I can come up with to describe it are the old shampoo commercials (“I told two friends, and they told two friends, and so on, and so on…..”) and the Norman Rockwell painting about gossip (which happens to hang in my OB/GYN’s office. Go figure.¬† Click on it to see it full size).5478gossip-posters.jpg

¬†Once I figured out what the hell she was talking about, I saw that it wasn’t so tangential after all, but I still love it when my kids come up with out of the blue stuff like that.

4 Comments

Filed under kid cuteness

4 responses to “Setting Off a Talk Bomb

  1. There’s a truly crappy movie based on the Talk Bomb concept, actually. It’s called Gossip and the premise is that a group of sociology students plant some specific pieces of gossip in the university population and plan to track its path. But THEN TRAGEDY! The Gossip leads to MURDER (also a really hot sex scene involving Joshua Jackson but that’s not relevant to the plot it just explains why I bothered to see the movie)!

  2. wait a minute…. “talk bomb” isn’t just a hokey thing her fourth grade teacher made up?!

  3. Oh I thought it was a funny thing that SHE made up. That’s why I was using the same phrase. I have no idea about her 4th grade teacher. They just called it gossip in the movie…er, Gossip.

  4. OH! Okay – so it MAY be a funny thing either she or her teacher made up. Good. I was afriad I was missing some sort of big cultural reference….

Leave a Reply

