Daily Archives: September 24, 2007

YUM!

I’m not usually a ‘mix’ person. I mean, yes: there are some things that are just better out of a box – brownies and yellow cake among them; I’ve yet to find a scratch recipe that beats out Dunkin Hines for these things – but, for the most part, I’m a make-it-from-scratch kinda girl.

I came across a tub of this stuff in my cupboard the other day and, since the “best if used by” date had come and gone during this summer, I decided to make some chocolate waffles:

OH. MY. PRECIOUS. GODDESS! These things are GOOD!

They’re MUCH more suitable for dessert than they would be for breakfast (of course, I never make waffles for breakfast, anyway – waffles are dinner in the Chili household and no, I don’t know exactly why that is). Seriously – top them with Edy’s Grand chocolate ice cream and some fudge sauce and you’re fast approaching roll-your-eyes-to-the-back-of-your-head bliss.

Ask me how I know.

I’m betting they’re also going to be amazingly yummy with some of this plopped on top*:

Check Stonewall Kitchens out – I’ve never been unhappy with anything I’ve ever gotten from them, either from their stores or from their internet shop (when Mr. Chili’s middle sister lived in California – she’s now in England – I’d send them the Blueberry Morning basket every year at Christmas). Plus, the company is run with social justice issues in mind, and I really dig supporting that.

After eating these fabulously yummy chocolate waffles, I think I’m going to make Stonewall Kitchens a theme for my Christmas gifting this year…

*edited to include:  yes, they are!  Ask me how I know…

1 Comment

Filed under admiration, cooking, social issues