Ten Things Tuesday

Ten things going on in Mrs. Chili’s world:

1. Bo, SaintSeester and I continue to rock the Dark and Stormy Book Club. You can go here to listen to the podcast of our last selection, Philip K. Dick’s Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep, and go here to participate in the online blog discussion of the book. The next pick is Mary Shelley’s masterpiece, Frankenstein. This is one of my all-time, top-ten favorite books (actually, I’d probably put it consistently in the top five) and I’m really looking forward to seeing how other people read the work. I learn something new every time I come back to the novel, and Bo and Seester are smart and insightful and I’m dying to see what they see that I may have missed (my first six times through it…). I’d love to know what YOU see, too, so join us, won’t you?

2. This coming weekend is a YNG weekend. I’m working through the homework and studying for the test (yes, we get homework and tests) and hoping that that I feel better by the end of the week than I do at the beginning. I have a low-grade crappy kind of thing going on – certainly not enough to keep me out of whatever game I’m in, but I’m not feeling all motivated and chipper these last few days, either. Which leads me to…

3. I’ve got to schedule our annual flu shots for sometime very soon, but I don’t want to do it when I’m feeling low-grade crappy: neither do I want to schedule it ahead of a YNG weekend – I’d much rather line it up in front of a weekend where my commitments are relatively light. Sigh.

4. I’m dealing with a completely irrational anxiety about NaBloPoMo. For those of you who have NO idea what that is, it stands for National Blog Posting Month and it’s a commitment bloggers make to post an entry a day, every day, for the entire month of November. I did it last year and I’ve signed up for it again, and am experiencing an absolutely ri-fucking-diculous anxiety about it. It’s stupid of me to be anxious because I’m a super-geek who never STOPPED posting an entry a day after last year’s NaBloPoMo ended – I’ve only missed one day all year, and that was St. Patrick’s Day (and no, I wasn’t drunk on green beer and boiled dinner – I just forgot and was too lazy to get out of bed when the realization hit me that I’d not posted that day). I think it’s the fact that I’ve actually SIGNED UP for this – that I’ve made a public commitment to others rather than the private commitment to myself – that’s making me edgy. I’m already stockpiling ideas – there are sticky notes all around my desk with writing topics. Pathetic.

5.   Just when I was ready to do the great clothes migration – switching spring/summer clothes for fall/winter ones – the weather goes and gives me a nearly-80 degree day. What’s up with that?

Today

Sunny
Sunny

Hi 77°F

6. Mr. Chili is working on arranging a business trip to PA this week to coincide with the World Series so he can hang out with his best friend Dudley in Maryland and they can watch the game together. I’m glad he’s going to do that because, for as much as I’d like to be, I’m just not a good baseball-watching buddy. Luckily, I’m good at other things…

7. I managed to get subs for two of my fitness classes for next week so that Mr. Chili and I can get to our “local” IKEA to get the furniture we need to really move into our bedroom. Mr. Chili designed the new bedroom with no closets (which, while it may sound like a bad idea, really does leave the room wide open and spacious), so we need to buy a wardrobe or two. We also need a new bed frame and some side tables: the girls are getting our old side tables and dresser, which match nicely and fit well into the room they now occupy. We also need a few more bookcases (now that all the upstairs books are downstairs, there’s no more room in the bookcases and it’s impossible to see the dining room table) and I want to see how much Christmas shopping I can take care of in IKEA’s Marketplace.

8. Speaking of Christmas; it’s that time of year again! I asked the family-in-law how they wanted to make the holidays work, and the suggestion was made by my MIL that Aunt Lynn take care of Christmas this year and I could do Thanksgiving. I’m not really down with that – I really LOVED having Christmas at our place last year, and I want the girls to NOT have the same childhood memories that Auntie and I have of being driven all over creation to see every aunt and grandmother who wouldn’t come to us. I got a taste of the promised land of enjoyable holidays when we hosted Christmas last year, and I sent off an email to Aunt Lynn with the very strong implication that I want folks to come to us again. We’ll see how that goes over.

9. One of the things on my to-do list this week is to write recommendation letters for WeedWoman‘s college applications. I’m SO excited that my friend is going back to school, and I’m thrilled to do anything and everything I can to help her reach her goal of becoming a counselor.

10. The second meeting of TCC’s GSA is tomorrow night. I’m not nearly as nervous this time around, though I AM hoping for a slightly larger turnout this week than two weeks ago. We’ve got some interesting things to talk about; Rowling’s announcement that Dumbledore is gay and activists’ attempt to block student civil rights legislation in California because the protections extend specifically to GLBTQ students among them. I’m also hoping to get people who ARE coming to pitch in refreshment-wise so that I don’t have to be responsible for all the shopping – I’ll bake some cookies, certainly, but I put too much pressure on myself to do too much; I’m using this as an opportunity to learn to relinquish control over something in which I feel heavily invested. I’ve got a great core group, though, so I know it will all be fine.

Happy Tuesday, Everyone!

7 Comments

Filed under ten things Tuesday

7 responses to “Ten Things Tuesday

  1. twoblueday

    8. Christmas season.
    It is NOT that time of year again! It is October 23 for pity’s sake!
    Christmas season starts no earlier than Dec. 20, and a good case can be made for Dec. 24.
    Really, is the world so boring that the 2 or 3 things which might be worth bothering about have to get launched way ahead of time. Like Presidential campaigns (arguably worth bothering about). They start pretty much the day after a Presidential election, apparently. The hunt for Oscar seems to start at 12:01AM January 1 (with much crowing from then on about the Oscar possibilities of some really crappy films).

    Okay, okay, but at least can’t Christmas season wait until the day after Thanksgiving?!

  2. nhfalcon

    You have obviously never worked in retail, TwoBlue.

    I, unfortunately, have spent most of my adult life in retail.

    Over the decades I have seen the Christmas season start earlier and earlier every year. Hallmark and American greeting stores have had their Christmas tree ornaments for sale for a month or two now. Sears started selling their Xmas decorations within the last week or two, I believe. Macy’s is already DECORATED for for the yuletide season. The other day the new boss at my store asked when this mall starts ramping up for Christmas and he got a resounding chorus of “The day after Halloween!”

    Quite frankly, I’m surprised I haven’t seen an ad on tv yet for a Christmas music cd…

  3. Yay Weedwoman! Congratulations on getting the process started!

    The flu shot sucked for me this year, glad you’re thinking about when to place it.

    While I strongly believe that Christmas decorations and the like shouldn’t go up until the day after Thanksgiving the planning process, especially when one’s people are…challenging starts by July at the latest. Who will go where, who will bring what, damage control and challenge assessment are key. While that sounds mean (and it is, I’m not a fan of the holiday) if the planning gets done like that I can usually salvage some good times.

  4. Kizz – that’s EXACTLY my point. Gerry, I’m not saying that it’s Christmas time again – our decorations don’t go up until at LEAST the second week of December – but I AM saying that it’s right about the time that all the planning of WHOs and WHEREs should be happening.

    Just so you all know, too, I got the WICKED blow-off to my letter. Dig this:

    I spoke to MIL re: Thanksgiving and Christmas in late September when we came to her house to pick up our crib that we had loaned to her many years ago.(A friend of hers had it in her attic and was moving to Seattle.) She offered to do Thanksgiving and I said that I could do it again and we left it that we would talk about it, so I guess she has changed her mind. I don’t mind doing Thanksgiving this year and perhaps MIL could do it next year as I think I’ll be just a little bit worn out from Son’s wedding and our niece, Laura is getting married three weeks later (October 25) in Pittsburgh and I’m doing the flowers for that as well.
    As for Christmas, perhaps we can talk about that at Thanksgiving. Haven’t had a chance to give that much thought yet.
    Love to all,
    Lynn

    Well, then, how about thinkin’ about having it here, hmmmm?

  5. That doesn’t read like a wicked blow off to me. That reads like someone trying to cover her bases with a sister who’s wishes she hasn’t yet parsed. Why does it read blow off to you?

  6. feather

    Have you ever devoted a Tuesday to your top ten favourite books?

    I’ve thought about making a post along those lines, but my favourite books are always changing and shuffling — I’d have to split it up into categories and subcategories. “Top Ten 19th C British Novels,” “Top Ten Epic Poems,” “Top Ten Modernists,” “Top Ten Pseudo-Philosophy-Theory,” “Top Ten Contemporary Novels,” “Top Ten Comfort Reads,” “Top Ten Brain Churners.” There’s just no way at this point that I can minimize into a top ten books of all time ever!

  7. feather

    Oh, I’m also experiencing NaBlo anxiety as well! I signed up, but have felt so generally inchoate that I’m not sure it would be fair to subject any wanderer-bys to my writing. It’s funny how huge a commitment something that you’re doing essentially for yourself can be.

Leave a Reply

