‘Bugs Wants to Know

Derek over at Eats Bugs has tagged me for the Crazy Eights:

Eight things I’m passionate about (about which I am passionate):

• correct grammar (duh).

• being a good wife / mother / friend.

• equal rights. Right now, my focus is primarily on gay and lesbian rights, but the passion extends to equal rights for everyone, really.

• writing and reading.

• good food, and learning to create it.

• learning to become the best me that I can be.

• neatness and order (though there is room in my life for a little dust and clutter).

• teaching.

Eight things I want to do before I die:

• get to know my grandchildren (and, possibly, my great-grandchildren).

• travel, particularly to parts of Europe and the tropics (and Bermuda).

• earn at least another Master’s degree.

• celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary (I’ll be 77; he’ll be 84).

• learn another language (or, perhaps, relearn ASL).

• see the Northern Lights again. Though I’d love it if they’d come to me, I doubt that will happen again.

• attain a greater enlightenment than I currently possess.

• maintain my health.

Eight things I say often:

• “I love you.”

• “What does your room look like?”

• “Are you KIDDING me?!” (or, the variant, “are you FUCKING kidding me?!“)

• “Come on, girls; we’re going to be late!”

• “What do you want for dinner?”

• “I’m well, thank you. How are you?”

• “I’ll be right there.”

• “Two seconds of thinking would have prevented this.”

Eight books I’ve read recently:

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

The Memoirs of Elizabeth Frankenstein by Theodore Roszak (though, to be fair, I’m currently reading this one – I haven’t reached the last page yet).

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep by Philip K. Dick

The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood

The Road by Cormac McCarthy

The Life of Pi by Yann Martel

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri

Eight songs I could listen to over and over (in no particular order):

Best of What’s Around by Dave Matthew’s Band

The Downeaster Alexa by Billy Joel

The Soul Cages by Sting

The Power of Two by the Indigo Girls

I Will Not Go Quietly by Don Henley

I Walk the Line by Johnny Cash

Synchronicity II by the Police

Shackled by Vertical Horizon

Eight things that attract me to my best friends:

• a good sense of humor.

• confidence.

• trustworthiness.

• intelligence.

• kindness.

• introspection and growth.

• compassion.

• passion and drive.

There’s an “eight people I think should do Crazy Eights” question at the end, but you all know how I feel about tagging. Feel free to lift this for your own use, and let me know that you’ve posted yours so I can link to you from here.

5 Comments

Filed under Blogroll, Little Bits of Nothingness, meme, my oh-so-exciting life, Questions

5 responses to “‘Bugs Wants to Know

  1. You have to know I’m stealing this and filing it in the vault for my Saturday memes.

    Oh, and I have one up today that’s 100 questions, if you get so desperate during the remaining days of NaBloPoMo.

  2. Someone tagged me with this a while back and I haven’t done it yet because I keep thinking, ’8′?? Why 8? Why must I think of 8 things for each question? That’s too many!

    I mean, 8 favorite songs? I don’t even like music that much! It’s too much pressure!

    I think maybe I need more pie.

  3. Tense, I’ve stolen so many memes from you that you could steal from me for the next decade or so and we’d be just about even.

    I’ll check out your 100 questions, though I’m not desperate for NaBloPoMo fodder. Please. I’ve been posting every day since LAST year’s NaBloPoMo, remember?

    Contrary, pie fixes EVERYTHING. Oh, and check out tomorrow -I’m posting 100 of my favorite songs…

  4. liv

    you means you likes it when peoples talks real goods? that ain’t no fun.

  5. Pingback: Tagged! « A Teacher’s Education

Leave a Reply

