Daily Archives: January 6, 2008

25 Things of Which I Never Grow Tired

Boosted, without shame but with permission, from EatsBugs.

1. My husband. His touch, his kisses, his sense of humor, just his presence.

2. My children. I may need a break every now and then, but they are so much a part of who I am that I wouldn’t be whole without them.

3. My friends, both present and out in the blogosphere. They (you) keep me grounded, make me laugh, and challenge me to think.

4. Hot Chocolate. Yes, it’s capitalized – it’s totally a proper noun the way I make it.

5. Teaching. CTG and I were having a conversation about teaching the other day, and I still contend that it gives me more than I put into it.

6. Garlic. I suspect there’ll be a lot of food on this list, and garlic is probably the one thing that I would miss the most if I couldn’t have it anymore. I love it in all its forms – marinated, roasted, turned into garlic salt and sprinkled over buttery toast. Mmmmmm.

7. NPR. All I know about the world – okay, MOST of what I know about the world – I learn from NPR. I feel smarter when I listen to it, and I freely admit to being a total junkie.

8. Blogging, both the writing and the reading. I love the sense of community I get from the blogging world, and I love that I can depend on people I’ve never actually met in the real world.

9. Reading. Do I really have to explain this one?

10. Chocolate. Again – do you really need me to go into detail?

11. This routine from Jeff Dunham. The bit where Peanut goes in to take a closer look at the paper (right around 2:25) gets me EVERY TIME.

12. Music. My iTunes library has everything from Mozart to 50 Cent (though I’m decidedly lacking in country/western and opera but, thanks to Xena, I will soon have more 70s music than I know what to do with). I love popping my iPod in and grooving to whatever comes up on the shuffle.

13. My bed. It’s warm and comfortable and safe and it smells like sleep.

14. Diet Coke. I know, I know – it’s terrible for me, and I AM trying to cut back, but MAN! It goes so well with things like chips or pizza or Chinese food.

15. Milk. Better for me, certainly, than the soda, and there’s really nothing quite like a cold glass of milk with cookies or (don’t ask me why) spaghetti. Mmmm.

16. Ovaltine. This one falls less under “things of which I’ll never grow tired” than it does under “things without which I would be utterly lost.” My morning begins with a glass of Ovaltine, and has for the past 16 or so years. I bring the stuff with me when we go on vacation. It is a vital part of my day.

17. Hot water. On demand hot water is truly one of the greatest achievements of mankind to date.

18.  My dishwashing brush.  I LOVE this thing.  I bought it at IKEA for $2.50, and I use it every day.  With it, I can wash dishes (well, pots and pans and such – dishes go in the dishwasher) in water much hotter than I can stand, so I know my dishes are really clean.

19.  Burt’s Bees Lemon Butter Cuticle Cream.  I have tins of this stuff by the couch, in my purse and next to my bed.  I’m convinced it’s the only reason my hands look as nice as they do.

20.  My car.  It’s small and cute, it gets good gas mileage and it takes me wherever I need to be.  The facts of its heated seats and CD player don’t diminish its appeal, either.

21.  Pasta.  You name it, I love it.  Macaroni (with or without cheese), ravioli, angel hair, rotini, lasagna, stuffed shells – it’s all good.  I’m betting that most of my love of pasta stems from my love of my homemade spaghetti sauce, but the fact remains that I could eat pasta several days a week and count myself richer for it.

22.  Movies.  I’m not sure if this one is cheating because, with the exception of a few select movies (well, maybe more than a few), I like to have some variety in my viewing, but I do love film.

23.  Granny Smith apples.  Tart and crunchy and good for me, they are a fruit that I try to always keep in the house.

24.  My electric kettle.  Instant hot water?  Always good.

25.  Yoga.  I’m hoping to be able to practice until I die, but I recognize that there may come a time when my on-the-mat practice falls away.  The fact of the balance, both literal and figurative, that yoga gives me – the “still and quiet,” the meditation and reflection – is enough to keep me at it forever.

Happy Sunday, Everyone.  Stay warm!

11 Comments

Filed under Blogroll, duh!, Friends, Home and Family, ideas and opinions, Little Bits of Nothingness, meme, movies, music, My husband rocks!, my oh-so-exciting life, Parenting, reading, ruminating, teaching, writing, yoga - theory and practice