Monday Meme

Boosted from Chatty

1. Who are your favorite authors?

Diana Gabaldon and Bill Bryson come immediately to mind, though I can’t really say I have any FAVORITE authors.

2. What are your favorite books?

I love (present tense, for it is an enduring love) the Outlander series by the aforementioned Ms. Gabladon, I adored The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd, and I could (and will) re-read Frankenstein again and again and again….

3. What kind of books do you tend to read?

I tend to like fiction – historical fiction in particular. I’m an English teacher, though – so I usually get to read things that are found in anthologies or that gain the attention of the academic community; at least, professionally. I get my “for fun” recommendations from friends, colleagues, and the display cases of my favorite bookstore.

4. Do you prefer to borrow books from the library or buy them?

I am all about the owning. Some women buy shoes; I buy books. I tend to get them used, though; I don’t need to be the first person to ever open the book. As long as no one’s written in the margins and the cover is still intact, I’ll take a used book over a new one almost all the time. I’m a book whore, but I’m a cheap book whore.

5. Do you prefer hardcover or paperback?

I generally prefer paperback, but I do own a few hardcover books. Mostly, those were gifts, though. Like I said… cheap.

6. What was the last book you read? What are you reading now?

The last book I read was A Scrap of Time and Other Stories by Ida Fink. I’m working my way through most of Voices and Views: A History of the Holocaust for the fellowship I’ll be attending all next week.

7. Do you read everyday?

Yes; without fail.

8. On average how many books do you read per year?

You know, I’ve never counted. Let’s see; it’s July now, and I’ve already read 16 books, so I’m on schedule for about 30 or so before the year’s out, especially considering that I’m teaching a lit class this summer.

9. Do you belong to any book clubs?

Yes! I belong to two, actually. I co-founded an online club with Saintseester and Bo – the Dark and Stormy Book Club. Please join us; we’re reading The Book Thief this time around and we have a blast every. Single. Month (even when the book sucks). I also started a “brick and mortar” book club with a former lit student of mine. Our membership includes myself and my student, the student’s fiancee, the student’s best friend, and O’Mama. We try to meet once a month, but it’s more like once every other; this time around, we read (and I heartily enjoyed) The Memory Keeper’s Daughter.

10. Recommend a good book.

I thought I just recommended a quite a few. Really, though, do join us on the Dark and Stormy for The Book Thief. It’s a young adult novel, you can probably get through it in a weekend (that’s how long it took me), and I can assure you that between the great story and the amazing insights of my co-hosts, you won’t be disappointed.

This is the view Mrs. Chili had for most of Sunday. Really, is there a better way to spend a summer afternoon?

I should also say that this was part of my view all day, as well.  Again, though; no better way to spend an afternoon!

17 Comments

Filed under Dark and Stormy Book Club, fun, Holocaust Study and Outreach, learning, meme, poetry, reading, ruminating, teaching, vacation

17 responses to “Monday Meme

  1. LOVE the view.
    I’m in 2 book clubs as well, although I’m seriously considering breaking up with one of them.
    We read “The Memory Keeper’s Daughter” and we liked it, but we kind of picked it apart. We said it was very “work-shoppy”, which is funny, because I think the author actually was a participant in the Iowa Writer’s Workshop.
    LOVED “The Secret Life of Bees”- I kept trying to relate the bee-keeping quotes at the beginning of each chapter to what was going on in the chapter. Beautiful writing. Did you read “The Mermaid Chair”? I have it in my possession, but have not yet read it. The “Outlander” series is going to be my next venture. And how funny is Bill Bryson? My mom and uncle particularly liked the latest one where he writes about growing up in Des Moines, because that’s where they grew up. I think he may have even gone to their high school, but not at the same time.
    I, too am a book whore. When people talk about books online or having the printed page disappear, I just can’t wrap my brain around it.

  2. I love your photographs.

    I, too, love (at least the first part) of the Outlander Series. I read and was mesmerized by The Secret Life of Bees, but hated her other one, The Mermaid Chair. Funny how that can be.

    This is the perfect meme for us bookworms.

  3. Mrs. T, The Secret Life of Bees was the first book that ever moved me to literal tears, which is funny because I’m not exactly stoic and stodgy, but I’d never actually cried over a book before. I’ve not read the Mermaid Chair, but I’ve heard from a lot of people what Seester said about it – they didn’t like it, so I’ve not bothered.

    I’ve got a bunch of Bryson’s books – I just picked up I’m a Stranger Here Myself, but I’ve not gotten around to reading it yet. I LOVED A Walk in the Woods and Notes From a Small Island, and I’ve read bits and pieces of his A Short History of Everything and The Mother Tongue. I love that he can make me laugh out loud.

    Seester, please boost – I’d love to see your answers… Oh, and finish the Outlander series – it’s worth all six books…

  4. What a nice day you had. A book all day, watching your kids in the pool. Really, what is better than that?

    I’m a book whore, too. But everyone knows it, and I get great ones for gifts all the time. I would never know what to read without the gifts!

  5. Oh my, I could write a post just commenting on your post! I loved Secret Life of Bees. Although I’m a moron and confused the titles and accidentally bought The Bee Season. It sucked and I couldn’t figure out why everyone loved it so much. Then, a light went on and I bought and read the right book. Ahhh, it was sooo good. And, obviously, I’m a book owner instead of borrower although now that I’ve discovered paperbackswap.com, I’m a swapper.

  6. I haunt the two closest used book stores. I even love the smell.

    I buy and sell books by the bag.

    I’m a cheap book whore too. :)

  7. I will pick up Outlander again this fall. I was in the 4th book when I just stopped. I was packing up my office when I found it and thought, “I need to start that one over again.”

    I will do this meme tomorrow, for sure!

  8. Lea

    I bought Outlander on SaintSeester’s recommendation but have not started it, yet. I bought it on the tail end of a GNO and didn’t happen to have any pertinent information, like say the author’s name, with me at the time. Fortunately, the clerk managed to figure out what I wanted based on the title and the description, “it’s a really thick book”.

  9. Don’t you just LOVE savant booksellers? I swear to God/dess, we’ve got Rain Man working in my favorite used book store (actually, I think he’s one of the owners). You can walk up to the guy and say “I’m looking for this book…. it happens during the Civil War…. and there’s a dog in it….?” and he’ll LEAP from behind the counter and come back with a 99-cent copy. LOVE that!

  10. I LOVED The Book Thief. It started out slow because of the POV issue, but then all of a sudden, I realized how completely engrossed I was in these characters. A wonderful book. Strongly suggest it!

  11. Organic Mama

    NICe meme. Stolen, thanks.
    Secret Life of Bees is on the first stack and every time I look at it, I reexperience my favorite scenes. Such a powerful story.
    My main book pusher is my mother and although she isn’t always right, I trust her to lead me to lovely reads.

  12. This is a great meme.

    I’m a book whore, too, except I love to buy new books when I can. (Though I buy used, too.) For me, though, it’s mostly about supporting the authors, a group I would like to join eventually.

    Looks like you had a great day. Love the view you have–all those trees.

  13. I buy books AND shoes.

    Love Diana Gabaldon too, and I am going to do my best to get to The Book Thief before the summer ends (in just a few weeks!).

  14. Pingback: A Bookworm’s Meme at Saintseester Says…

  15. There’s an extra kid in that view! Where did she come from? :)

    FYI, the post scheduled to post at 2:57P showed up in my feed reader though it isn’t here on the blog yet. But maybe it showed up here and was deleted already, I don’t know.

  16. twoblueday

    I read so prodigously, and always have, that I’d be hard pressed to name a favorite author, unless it were Charles Dickens.

    Modern authors come and go in my estimation, they are only as good as their last book!

    I’m presently plowing through a book about a family and their house on Cape Cod (Wing’s Neck to be exact), called “The Big House.” The family stuff is okay, I guess (frankly, I’m more interested in my own family), so thank goodness the author threw in some stuff about the history and settlement of Cape Cod.

  17. Mrs Chili ! I am in the throes of Outlander right now and loving every second of it…. RAWR!

Leave a Reply

