I *Heart* My iPhone

Yes, I am a bit of a geek.

Mr. Chili bought me an iPhone for Christmas last year and, even though I wasn’t actively craving one, I’m not sorry he hooked me up.

Really, this thing is much portable coolness. While some might scoff at the hyper-connectivity and the over-the-topness of it (I’m looking at you, Bo and Gerry!), I think it’s great. I can send and receive emails from my phone. I can take photographs, listen to music, blog, keep lists, send texts and play games on my phone. Oh, and I can make calls on my phone. It is, for all intents and purposes, the over-achieving little brother of my beloved PowerBook laptop.

Now, with the new computer updates, I can do a few more neat-o, cool things with the phone by means of third party applications. The two bits I’m currently enamored of are the Sportstap feature and the direct-connect to Pandora internet radio – both of which, by the way, were free. Eff-Are-Eee, Baby! (anybody but me remember that radio ad?)

The Sportstap keeps me up-to-the minute informed of what’s going on in games (I’m enjoying having this information faster and easier than I can get it on ESPN’s mobile site and am currently using it to stay on top of Sox games, but I’m going to LOVE this come football season!). I think Pandora is the bomb anyway, and having it on my iPhone (which, it should be noted, can be listened to either via the surprisingly satisfying headphones that came with the thing or through the little speakers on the bottom) just makes it that much cooler.

I married into the world of techno-geek, and it seems that not a little bit has rubbed off…

9 Comments

Filed under fun, Home and Family, Little Bits of Nothingness, love notes, music, My husband rocks!, my oh-so-exciting life, sports, strange but true

9 responses to “I *Heart* My iPhone

  1. De

    We strolled into the apple store last night and it was the MOST crowded I’ve seen it – more so than at Christmas – I assume because of the new version of the phone.

    I know I will have a lot of catching up to do when I get back into the world, a world dominated by PCs. An iPhone might comfort me greatly.

  2. August 8th – the day I turn 42 and get my new iPhone. I’ve never been so excited to get older! LOL I love Mimi the MacBook Pro, but I may marry Iggy the iPhone!

  3. I didn’t really want one when it first came out, but I have to admit that I want one now. Please don’t tell anyone though. I could never live that down.

  4. Pandora on your phone. How cool is that?

  5. That is so beyond my technological capabilities!

  6. Bo

    Hey, now. I don’t have anything against the iPhone. I love technological toys, and the only time I ever played with one, I was impressed.

    I just said they didn’t build it for me. I’m not crazy about the all-in-oneness of it, for one thing. When I carry separate gadgets, if I lose one of them or it gets stolen or whatever, it’s one part of my life that’s disabled. Conversely, if I start carrying an all-in-one and something happens to it, it’s a massive swath of destruction through my very soul. (Or something; perhaps that’s a smidge overstated, but you get what I’m saying.)

    I do balk, though slightly, at the price as well. $199 is fine for the upfront, but $40 is about my upper limit for a monthly charge, and you can’t get out for any less than 50% above that. I just don’t value omni-Internet as highly as (apparently) many others do. I thought it would be great to have a Wi-Fi-enabled PDA, and I’d guess I’ve used it 15 times in the past year.

    I was planning to give a colleague a hard time about standing in line for his on Friday, but then I found out it was a gift from his wife, which effectively insulated him from any serious grief from me. :-)

  7. Darci

    I am loving my iPhone. There was a hiccup getting the 2.0 update but I just rebooted my MacBook and all is well in the world. I love Pandora, Check Please (an really easy way to divide checks including tips and tax), and yes, I now own my very own Light Saber aka PhoneSaber. It makes the cool noise and everything. *sigh*

  8. whodoesshethinksheisanyway

    I heart mine too! The MLB site seems to be faster with the play updates. Just so you know.

  9. twoblueday

    My scoffing days may be numbered. Daughter showed up with an iPod touch (no phone, but WiFi internet and computing of a sort). I was enchanted with it. I guess the iPhone does all that and, well, is a phone.

    Maybe . . . .

    Did I ever say I have a little Mac notebook, an old iBook? It still runs well and I still like it.

Leave a Reply

