Daily Archives: September 17, 2008

Because I’ve got Nuthin’

I stole this, shamelessly, from Cajunvegan over at I Read Banned Books. Thanks, Babe!

What is in the back of your car? A basket with sunscreen, bug spray, paper towels, Amour All wipes, an ice scraper (because New England natives keep one in the car at all times) and an extra sweater; my yoga mat; a bunch of reusable grocery bags (three of which are insulated for bringing home the ice cream); and, under the carpet panel, the necessary accutremont for changing a tire (including the tire, of course). The one thing I DON’T have in there are jumper cables. I need to remedy that.

Name one person who made you smile today. Mr. Chili consistently makes me smile.

What were you doing at 8 am this morning? Drinking Ovaltine.

What were you doing 45 minutes ago? Loading the dishwasher

What is your favorite candy bar? This changes with my mood. I like Milky Ways and Kit Kats pretty consistently, though. Of course, there’s always room in my world for a bar of really good, dark chocolate.

Have you ever been to a strip club? No, but I’ve gone to the bank to provide one dollar bills to Mr. Chili when he’s gone for the occasion of bachelor parties. Name one other wife cool enough to say THAT!

What is the last thing you said aloud? “You’re kidding me, right?”

What is the best ice cream flavor? Here’s another one that changes with my mood. My all-time favorite is Ben and Jerry’s Phish Food, but I’m really loving chocolate peanut butter cup lately. I’m also pretty fond of watermelon sherbet.

What was the last thing you had to drink? Odwalla Strawberry C.  It may be my newest (expensive) addiction.  I’m hoping all the good vitamins will make me immune to college-kid cooties. Yum!

What are you wearing right now? A black, three-quarter sleeve shirt and a jean skirt.

What was the last thing you ate? I just had a Chips Ahoy with Nutella on it.  Mmmmm!

Have you bought any new clothing items this week? Nope. I’ve cut way back on the clothes buying; I’m finding that my current needs are met with the current wardrobe.

When was the last time you ran? Um…. I run at the mouth all the time; does that count?….

The last sporting event you watched? I watched some of last night’s baseball game.

What is your favorite flavor of popcorn? Air popped at home, with a lot of real butter and just a little too much salt.

Who is the last person you sent a comment/message on myspace? I don’t keep a Myspace page.

Do you take vitamins daily? I don’t, but it’s a habit I’m trying to form.

Do you go to church every Sunday? Um, that would be a resounding NO!

Do you have a tan? And another NO! I’m about as white as they get. My only other color is red, and I do my best to avoid that at all costs.

Do you like Chinese food over pizza? I prefer pizza to Chinese food. Chinese food usually comes as a result of a craving for cashew chicken.

Do you drink your soda with a straw? Only for take out

What did your last text message say? “K,” a response from Mr. Chili to my text to him that I was on my way to pick him up for lunch.

Are you someone’s best friend? I hope so, but I’m a little shy lately about assessing other people’s definition of our friendships. If I’m one of your best friends, speak up, please!

What are you doing tomorrow? Teaching, both English and yoga.

Look to your left, what do you see? A printer/scanner, a framed dragonfly card, and my back yard through a window.

What color is your watch? I don’t often wear watches, but the ones I have all have cream faces and either brown or black leather straps.

What do you think of when you think of Australia? Fohstah’s; it’s Australian for Beeyah, Mate!

Do you use chapstick? No, Burt’s Bees

What is your birthstone? Garnet

What is your favorite number? Six

Do you have a dog? I’m too lazy to own a dog. We’ve got four cats, instead.

Last person you talked to on the phone? Dudley called to say that his meetings ended sooner than he’d expected and that he’s headed our way.

Have you met anyone famous? Not that I can recall (so how famous could they have been?)

Any plans today? Work through a bit of the to-do list, teach a yoga class, teach an English class, then come home to visit with Dudley, who’s here on a one-night business trip.

How many states have you lived in? Three – all of them in New England

Ever go to college? Yes, I have a BA in English education with a minor in literary criticism and an MAT in English teaching with a focus on literacy education for the Deaf (fat load of good THAT did me…).

Biggest annoyance in your life right now? A certain 11-year-old who wants to fight about EVERYTHING

Last song listened to? We Are by Vertical Horizon

Can you say the alphabet backwards? Not even when I’m stone-cold sober.  I actually worry that I’ll be pulled over for something and the cop will ask me to recite the alphabet backwards, then bust me for being drunk because I can’t.

Do you have a maid service clean your house? Puh-LEESE! No. Once or twice a year, though, I’d LOVE to have someone come in and do a top-to-bottom cleaning. Maybe I’ll ask Santa…

Favorite pair of shoes you wear all the time? Depends on the season. I’ve got a pair of wide-strap sandals from Land’s End that I wear all summer, and Land’s End All-Weather Mocs are my footwear of choice for the fall and winter; I’ve got a pair each in black and chocolate brown.

Are you jealous of anyone? Not even a little. I’ve got it good, and I know it.

Is anyone jealous of you? Probably. If I weren’t me, I’d be jealous (does that come off as awful?).

Do you love anyone? I’m desperately in love with Mr. Chili. My girls come in a close second.

Do any of your friends have children? Some of them do have children, but I have a surprising number of kidless friends.

Do you eat healthily? I try.

What do you usually do during the day? I read, I write, I teach, and I parent. I try to spread around compassion and kindness, too.

Do you hate anyone that you know right now? I don’t hate.

Do you use the word ‘hello’ daily? Only on the phone.

What color is your car? Black, and I call her The Puck.

Do you like cats? I have four of them, so it would stand to reason that I like them. Yes, I love all my wretched little beasties; every last one of them.

Have you ever been to Six Flags? I don’t think so. I’ve been to a Busch Gardens, but I don’t think I’ve yet entered a Six Flags. I’m not a huge amusement park fan, so I’m not feeling like I’m missing out.

How did you get your worst scar? It’s a toss-up between sailing, unrestrained, over the front seat of a rapidly decelerating American car when I was about six or seven and having a cyst removed from my forehead last spring. I think they both required about the same number of stitches. The cyst scar is visible; the car-accident scar requires the rearrangement of hair.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized