It Seems That I’m Really a Teenaged Girl

Huh.

I took Punkin’ Pie to see this movie this afternoon*.

twilight-tease-poster

I went in with pretty low expectations.  All of the reviews I’d heard had been kind of lukewarm and, really, while I found the books engaging, I wasn’t sucked in the way a lot of other people have claimed to be (and I certainly wouldn’t put them in the same league as the Outlander books).

I was pleasantly surprised.  While there were certainly a lot of places where the film could have been stronger in its story-telling, the plot moved along, the characters were pretty true to their counterparts in the novels (Holy COW, but Jacob looked exactly like I pictured him!  I think I gasped), and the whole thing was entirely satisfying.  It was left wide open for a sequel, and I’m already looking forward to it.

Punkin’ and I both left the theatre with the understanding that this would be an addition to our DVD collection when it’s released for sale.  The film filled a craving for romance and suspense, and was entirely appropriate for both Punkin’, who’s 11, and me, who’s fast approaching 40.  I agree with the general consensus that one would get far more out of the film if one’s read the novel, but even that isn’t required to enjoy the story for what it is.  Really, if you’re in to this sort of thing, go see it.  It was fun.

*Daddy and Beanie went to another theatre in the complex and saw Madagascar II.  Daddy’s review was something along the lines of “films like this make people bow to the altar of Pixar.”  I think I got the better end of the afternoon’s deal.

12 Comments

Filed under admiration, books, fun, movies, Parenting, reading

12 responses to “It Seems That I’m Really a Teenaged Girl

  1. Anonymously Angry

    I almost saw this 2 days ago, but I decided to watch Transporter 3 at the very last minute.

  2. We saw some previews for Transporter 3 on t.v., and I commented to Mr. Chili that it looked like the kind of movie that would make me car sick. The habit that a lot of directors seem to have lately of filming frenetic action WAY up close messes with my equilibrium; I nearly lost it after the third Bourne movie.

    Truly, though – if you’re into mushy-romantic, willing-suspension-of-disbelief, a-little-low-on-plot-but-still-worth-the-two-hours-and-the-eight-bucks, go see this movie.

  3. I’m so glad to hear this. I was sort of disappointed not to be excited enough about the movie.

  4. Really, Kizz; I enjoyed it FAR more than I was expecting to. Of course, a lot of it pushed my particular buttons; there was much intense gazing into eyes, certainly, but there was also the unconditional acceptance bit, too.

    SPOILER ALERT!!!

    There was a scene in the garage, when they were getting ready to scramble for Bella’s safety, when Rosalie gets all stubborn and “why should *I* help.” Carlisle gently slams her with a “Bella is with Edward. She’s a part of this family, and we protect our family.” I have to admit, that made me well up.

  5. I am one of the adults that, embarrassingly so, got caught up in the four novels. The movie wasn’t bad, but I read the book about two years ago and for some reason I thought there was more Jacob in it.

  6. There was a LOT of Jacob in the second book (which is as far as I’ve read into the series). I’m betting that the next film will be more of what you were expecting.

  7. I’m team Jacob, but not Jacob in the movie – at least not for the future story.

  8. drtombibey

    Heck mrschili. I knew all along you were but a young’un.

    Dr. B

  9. twoblueday

    Since I basically won’t go to movies in theaters, it is unlikely I’ll ever see Twilight. I find that I seldom watch movies at home either by renting them or doing pay-per-view. It doesn’t mean I don’t like movies, especially movies made from books I’ve read. I think what has happened in recent years is that my “suspension of disbelief” has somehow become, well, suspended.

    I’d rather play with Babycakes.

  10. I am reading “Twilight” now, and I do like it, but am not into it the way I get with the Harry Potter series.
    Good to know it’s a good movie- has Punkin read the book(s)? I’m thinking it would be a good thing for me to see with my Claire. (11 in Jan.)

  11. Seester, tell me what you mean; I’m not sure I understand you.

    Doc, Mrs. Chili is going to be 40 in January. I’m not sure that qualifies as “young’un” in ANYONE’S book, but I’ll take the compliment and run with it; thanks!

    Gerry, I’m finding that MY threshold for willing suspension of disbelief is getting lower and lower, too, though I suspect that my endurance is aided by my work as an English teacher. Anyway, I can’t argue that your time isn’t better spent with Babycakes.

    Yeah, Maestra, I didn’t LOVE the Twilight series (I’ve read but the first two – we’re on the waiting list for the third at the library, and I’ll buy them all when they come out in soft-cover), but I didn’t chuck them halfway through, either. They are what they are, and if one can get into the young-adult mindset, they’re fun.

    Yes, do take Claire. There are one or two slightly scary bits, (the scene in the ballet studio is violent, but not gory), but I found nothing objectionable. The series was written by a Mormon, for heaven’s sake; the main characters BARELY touch and kiss only twice in the film. It was perfectly appropriate 11-14 year old chick-flick material.

  12. I liked that the movie was true to the book. And I’m glad to know they are making the second book into a movie, too.
    ;-)

    I didn’t think Edward was gorgeous enough. My students assured me that’s because I’m old and think George Clooney is hot.

Leave a Reply

