Daily Archives: February 6, 2009

F-F-Friday

I don’t have much to report today.

In fact, the truth is that I’m a little preoccupied at the moment because I’ve learned that, in the last two weeks or so, my mom has essentially lost her ability to get around on her own (we suspect that she has undiagnosed MS and, in the last few weeks, has gone from needing a walker to not being able to get off the couch without assistance).  I’m trying not to dwell on things over which I have no control.

There was good in today, though.  I had a lovely yoga class which was attended by several new people with some pretty severe mobility issues, and everyone stayed through the whole class and everyone confirmed that they felt successful when class was over.  I was able to spend some good car-time with my grandmother as I drove her to a doctor’s appointment in my old hometown in Massachusetts (where her doctor reported that she’s improving!), and we had a lovely lunch afterward.  On the way home after dropping Gramma off, I stopped in to check on Mom, and I broached some difficult topics (she’s going to have to consider leaving her two-storey house with crappy egress in favor of a one-floor something, hopefully in my neighborhood.  It won’t happen soon, I fear, but I wanted to plant the seed nonetheless).  I also got to tell her how much I love her, and how I’m happy to do anything that I can to help her through this part of her life.  Things that feel burdensome to her are things that I see as opportunities to give back to her a little bit of what she’s given to me.  I hope she understands that.

Today’s flower is the peony, which symbolizes healing.

peony-736536

image credit

Happy Friday, Everyone.

6 Comments

Filed under compassion and connection, concerns, F-F-Friday, health, Home and Family, road trip!, Worries and Anxieties