Friday Miscellanea

•  I’m posting while waiting for the start of a workshop at the Holocaust Center. I’ve been looking forward to this seminar since it was announced; the title of it is “Confronting a Difficult Past: Germans Wrestle with the Legacy of Nazism and the Holocaust.”  I’ve written here about one of the presenters, a man with whom I feel a deep and abiding connection.  My juniors and seniors at CHS are reading Simon Wiesenthal’s The Sunflower and are grappling with complex and often unanswerable questions.  This is going to be, I think, a very important day for me as a professional and a person.

•  I got up far too early this morning to get here (though the drive over was beautiful – the country between home and here is ablaze in autumn color).  I’m expecting to hit a slump at about 10:00.  Sometimes, I really wish I liked coffee..

•  President Obama won the Nobel Peace Prize today.  While I’m fully expecting a lot of people to sayso what?” I think it’s important.  One of the (many) reasons I wanted this man in office is the repair he could do to the reputation of our country through his attitude and behavior.  I really do feel that, for as much as I’m frustrated by what the President hasn’t done, I really do feel that he’s a far better representative to the world of me and my beliefs than our former leader ever was.

•  I have to return An Echo in the Bone on Tuesday, and I’m not nearly done with it.  I’ve been good and have been doing my work rather than goofing off and reading for fun.  I’m wondering when I’ll be able to take the book out again – I’m doubting that I’ll be able to just renew the thing because there’s probably a wait list…

That’s about all I’ve got right now.  I hope you have a fantastic Friday!

11 Comments

Filed under Holocaust Study and Outreach, Home and Family, Little Bits of Nothingness, reading

11 responses to “Friday Miscellanea

  1. You live without coffee?

    Color me impressed. ;-)

  2. Substitute sugar for coffee.

    I found out about the Nobel by stumbling across people who are well beyond “so what” and are deeply offended already. Forget the speed of light, look how fast the speed of emotion is.

  3. Kizz, I can bet I know several people (one or two in particular) who are already there….

  4. twoblueday

    All the right wing buzz is that Mr. Obama’s Nobel is a lot of hooey. Me, I scoff at prizes in general.

    So, An Echo In The Bone jogged my memory. What happened to The Reading Room?

  5. twoblueday

    I can’t fathom what you have left to learn about the Holocaust. I admire your tenacity in studying it.

  6. Gerry, I’m waiting to hear from Alan about when we’re going to get started with The Reading Room. I’ll post an announcement here when we get it up and running. (I’m secretly glad that we’ve not started yet; I’m in it up to my eyeballs at the moment…).

    As far as Holocaust study goes, I’m pretty sure I could spend the rest of my life investigating the ideas that the Shoah brings up for me and never get to the bottom of it. I never tire of the things this investigation brings up for me, and I feel a huge responsibility to carry forward the voices that, soon, won’t be around to tell us their stories anymore…

  7. A war president gets a peace prize? Wonders will never cease.

    I actually have to start reading Dewey soon (within a day). I haven’t had a chance to do more on blogtalk yet but I suppose that I can set that up when we are done reading.

  8. Mrs. C., I wouldn’t say “so what?” in regards to Obama’s Peace Prize, I’d say “for what?”

    As you yourself said: “…for as much as I’m frustrated by what the President hasn’t done…”

    Exactly. He hasn’t done anything. What has he truly accomplished?

    Has he made the world look at America in a better light compared to Bush? Maybe. I might even go so far as probably – after all, it’s kinda hard to fall off the floor -but (now I’ll say it) so what? You get a Nobel peace prize because you make people feel all warm and fuzzy on the inside?

    Shit, if that’s the case, Barney should’ve gotten a Nobel prize years ago!

    In my book he’s done two good things – the Lilly Leadbetter Fair Pay Act and the handling of the Somali pirate incident – that’s it.

    And that’s not worth a Nobel Peace Prize.

  9. I lurve the man but even I am scratching my head about this one. All I can say is that he’d damn well better live up to it.

  10. Laurie B

    He gets the Peace price because the guy before him just didn’t have a clue about trying to win that. I agree with SW and Falcon, amazing to me such as it is.

    Obama inhereted the Afghan war and it will play out just as Viet Nam did. Talk to Pres Johnson about that.

    The Equal marriage thing, we have the lovely Mr. Clinton to credit for the Defense of marriage act. Yup, he who randomly screwed around. He decided us gays and lesbians shouldn’t be married, it might affect his own marriage ya’know.

    Any democratic party politician should be required right now to STAND and DELIVER what we, the people want. It’s put up or shut up time. Otherwise, we loose. All of us.

  11. Darci

    I am in upstate New York this weekend enjoying the lovely autumn you write of…look forward to hearing about your day.

    Off to look up The Sunflower

Leave a Reply

