Hate Mail

Someone forwarded this to me yesterday:


Looks pretty doesn’t it? Pretty deceiving….
PLEASE, DON’T USE THESE STAMPS! NOT FOR VALENTINE’S,
NOT FOR ANY MAIL!!

USPS 44-Cent Stamp Celebrates Muslim holidays Eid Al-Fitr and Eid Al-Adha .

If there is only ONE thing you forward today… let it be this!

REMEMBER to adamantly & vocally BOYCOTT this stamp, when you are
purchasing your stamps at the post office.

All you have to say is “No thank you, I do not want that Muslim Stamp
on my letters!”

To use this stamp would be a slap in the face to all those AMERICANS
who died at the hands of those whom this stamp honors.

REMEMBER the MUSLIM bombing of Pan Am Flight 103!
REMEMBER the MUSLIM bombing of the World Trade Center in 1993!
REMEMBER the MUSLIM bombing of the Marine Barracks in Lebanon !
REMEMBER the MUSLIM bombing of the Military Barracks in Saudi Arabia !
REMEMBER the MUSLIM bombing of the American Embassies in Africa !
REMEMBER the MUSLIM bombing of the USS COLE!
REMEMBER the MUSLIM attack on 9/11/2001 !
REMEMBER all the AMERICAN lives that were lost in those vicious MUSLIM
attacks!

Pass this along to every Patriotic American that you know and get the
word out! Honor the United States of America !

I have a lot to say about this, but let me limit it to these few points. One, this is hate speech (“I do not want that Muslim Stamp on my letters!” sounds exactly like “I don’t want those fags living in my neighborhood,” or any number of other closed-minded, ignorant statements) and if it does anything – at least, for me – it inspires me to go out and buy these stamps (if they, in fact, even existed… we’ll get to that in a second). The response I sent to the person who forwarded this to me essentially said that I WOULD buy these stamps, and that it’s messages like this one that serve to perpetuate the hate and misunderstanding that gets us all into so much trouble.

Two, the stamp featured in the email doesn’t even exist, at least, not as something one can go in and buy (or object to) at the Post Office; it’s a custom design that someone created on the zazzle website (and yes, I checked ALL of the USPS offerings on their website. The only Eid stamp I could find was this one (and yes, I’ve bought this stamp):




So, this is my way of forwarding this email: please, if this finds its way into your inbox, forward it out with the message that you DON’T condone its hateful rhetoric.  If we don’t start treating each other with respect and dignity – if we don’t start fostering understanding and compassion instead of hate and oppression – we will surely hasten our collective doom.

8 Comments

Filed under compassion and connection, concerns, dumbassery, frustrations, General Bitching, ideas and opinions, politics, social issues, strange but true, this is NOT a drill, Worries and Anxieties, WTF?!

8 responses to “Hate Mail

  1. This went around a couple of years ago and I received it from someone who would swear that they weren’t racist (or whatever “-ism” fits). I wrote a blog post as a responmse – I may have to repost it if this bullshit is making its way around again.

  2. Oh, ugh! What do you want to bet that a certain number of my in-laws and a few cousins will be sending me that obnoxious HATE email??? Can I just cut-and-paste your response, Chili? You said it PERFECTLY!

  3. twoblueday

    The person propounding this bit of venom obviously based it on fiction rather than facts (relative to the stamps).

    As for the vitriol, I’m not going to stick up for it at all, yet I consider it understandable in a way.

    Various Islamic persons have done terrible things aimed at Americans, successfully at times, not so much at others. Various Islamic groups do terrible things to each other. We have two “hot” wars going in Islamic countries. We support with our dollars and technology a number of other efforts against “radical” Islamic people and organizations. We have paupered our nation in these efforts, both morally and financially.

    We are fed platitudes by our government, which is indeed the government of or Islamic citizens and residents also, about Islam being a religion of peace, and about most Islamic persons being non-violent and good neighbors.

    Our economy is in a shambles, and we see the people who got it that way being rewarded, even enriched, at our expense. Jobs are scarce. Jobless benefits are running out.

    So, people are angry. They are going to continue to be angry. Inevitably, they will need a focus. For some, that will be vitriolic hatred of Islam.

  4. I didn’t read the quoted material all the way through here, because I recognized it from an email I received *years* ago. Clearly, then, it didn’t mention Obama. The stamp in question was the one you found that does exist. But even then (I checked into it), the rant contained half-truths at best, twisting, distortions of reality. I’m sad to see this is still happening.

  5. Laurie B

    We have just point blank told friends and family to not send us this sort of email. The threat back to them was that if they were to continue to do so we would blocklist them and not send anything of personal or family interest to them at all.

    I’m tolerant of a fair amount of crap but there is a limit, after all.

    So far it’s worked.

  6. Laurie, my sister and I had to tell our father pretty much the same thing – he kept sending us annoying (though not usually hateful) right-wing stupid stuff, thinking it would be funny to tweak our more liberal sensibilities. After we told him to back off, he did – fortunately, as I would not have liked to cut off e-communication with him, but WOULD have if necessary.

    I have a sister-in-law who also sends right-wing/overtly religious material that I find irritating, but since she and I are not necessarily close, I find it easier to simply delete-before-reading almost everything she sends.

  7. Pingback: Taking on the Hate Mail « The Blue Door

Leave a Reply

