Am I Cool, or Crazy? You Decide.

This afternoon, my husband and I are going to be host to five – count ‘em, FIVE – girls, three nearly-13-year-olds and two almost-elevens. Our plan is to take them (in two cars, of course) to the movie theatre to see Avatar. From there, we’ll bundle everyone across the parking lot to the mall, where some sort of light repast will be taken in the food court. Afterward, Daddy will take the two younger ladies home while I will sit in the Sears courtyard with my book while the three tweens “go shopping” for about an hour (Gerry, Punkin’ is particularly delighted with you and Mimi right now; she’s planning to spend your Christmas gift to her on jeans and earrings). Afterward, I’ll take the girls home where a sleepover will commence.

This could be really great or an unmitigated disaster. I’m not worried about having the girls out in public; my concern is whether or not I’m going to be able to sleep at all tonight. I’ve already told my daughters that they are welcome to stay up all night if they like, but that I’m instituting a moratorium on noise after 10:30; I’ve got to get up to teach a yoga class tomorrow morning. I’m keeping my hopes up, though, that it’s all going to go just fine.


image credit

Wish me luck

7 Comments

Filed under celebration, concerns, doing my duty, family matters, Home and Family, kid cuteness, My husband rocks!, my oh-so-exciting life, Parenting, strange but true, this is NOT a drill

7 responses to “Am I Cool, or Crazy? You Decide.

  1. jrh

    Good luck!
    It sounds like a blast! I hope the girls enjoy it!

    PS See if you can get a free mani/pedi out of the deal… I am sure the girls would be happy to oblige.

  2. I think everyone will have a great time! I hosted and attended lots of sleepovers as a child (some at age 9-10) and I can honestly say that we were always respectful enough to keep the late night fun at a quiet level. Usually the later stuff was movies, gossip, and “light as a feather, stiff as a board.” A few giggles probably escaped, but there was certainly no major noise.

  3. Crazy but cool at the same time. If they get out of hand, tell Punk that her aunt will come over and give them dancing lessons. That should keep her in line…

  4. Sounds like you’re playing with fire. =)

  5. mccgood

    oh my goodness a sleep over I will wish you luck! A sleep over on Saturday was always out of the question on Saturday nights as it made for cranky Sundays and Sundays were meant for getting ready for the week. IS it any wonder I don’t like going anywhere on Sundays?

  6. Have fun! :-) Sounds like a good night for an adult beverage or two.

  7. twoblueday

    It’ll be fine.

Leave a Reply

