Daily Archives: February 8, 2010

Monday Meme

Boosted, with gratitude, from NurseExec a while back.

1. How long have you been blogging?
I posted my first blog entry on August 21, 2005.

2. What made you start?
I started the blog as a place to write and document what I did and thought.

3. Who inspired you?
Kizz, who still inspires me.

4. About how many hours a week would you estimate you spend on your blog?
Probably far more than I should.

5. What kind of experience or background do you have with writing?
I’ve never been a diary-keeper, but I’ve been a writer all my life.  My education is strongly rooted in writing instruction, as well, so writing is both my work and my art.

6. Talk about how you come up with blog topics. Where do you get your ideas?
Most of the time, the ideas just come to ME – I find that, when I have to chase ideas down, the writing is less – less engaging, less good. I usually just write about things I observe or overhear or think; very rarely do I write about deep or profound things, though that can sometimes happen.

7. What or who inspires you and your blog?
Didn’t I just answer that question?  I’m inspired in my everyday life by my friends and colleagues, and I’m inspired by people who do the right thing just because it’s the right thing.  I aspire to be that kind of person.

8. Where and/or how do your brainstorming for your blog?
My ideas come to me in all the places of my life – the shower, the car, walking around, cooking dinner.  I’m actually pretty good at holding an idea until I have a chance to get to the computer, though, so I don’t keep a list of blog fodder anywhere.

9. Do you have any blogging rules or guidelines you follow?
I change names to protect the innocent (or the not-so-innocent, as the case may be).  I only publish photographs of the backs of my children’s heads.  I always give credit for the images I post here that I get from other sites.  There are rules, too, about what’s too personal to blog about, and about how far I will engage arguments on my blog; I’m fine with people disagreeing, but I’m not okay with people being disagreeable about it.

10. Is there anything you will not blog about?
Yes; quite a few “anythings,” in fact.

11. Do you have any sort of a publishing schedule in terms of day of week or topic?
I have managed to post every single day since NaBloPoMo 2006, missing only St. Patrick’s Day 2007.  I like posting every day; I don’t feel pressure to say something profound every day – some days, I post LOL cats and call it done – but I like having my post-a-day touchstone.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized