Daily Archives: March 30, 2010

Ten Things Tuesday

Here are ten things that I always buy the name-brand of:

1. Noxzema. Mr. Chili uses this to shave, and I made the mistake of buying the store brand of this…. once. Not only do I have to buy Noxzema, but I have to buy the tubs of the stuff; the pump bottles don’t cut it, either.

2. Colegate original toothpaste. I’ve tried other brands; I grew up using Aim, and I’ve given a couple of Tom’s of Maine varieties a try, but I always come back to Colegate original.

3. Ovaltine. I start every morning with a glass of classic chocolate malt Ovaltine. No Quik, no Nestle instant breakfast, no Hershey’s syrup; it’s either Ovaltine or nothing.

4. Tide laundry detergent. I’ve tried to use other brands, but I keep coming back to Tide mountain breeze scent. The scent it leaves on our clothes is JUST light enough – strangely, I’ve found that I prefer a little bit of light scent than the smell that gets left behind from “unscented” laundry soap.

5. Coca-Cola. While I’ll drink diet Pepsi in restaurants (if that’s all they’ve got), I only ever buy Coke products at home – diet caffeine-free for me and cherry Coke for Mr. Chili.

6. Lay’s potato chips and Doritos. Every once in a while, I really want Cape Cod kettle-cooked chips, but for the most part, I’m coming out of the grocery store with the light and salty yumminess that comes in the bright yellow bags. I’ve also tried to get away with the store brands of taco chips, but they just don’t do it; it’s Doritos or nothing.

7. Band-aid or Curad bandages. I don’t have a particular preference of one brand over the other, but I can tell you that I don’t like store-brand bandages. My experience with them has been that they’re either too sticky or too stiff.

8. Burt’s Bees. I’m in love with the lemon butter cuticle cream, the coconut foot cream, and the exfoliating body wash (which I use exclusively as a facial cleanser). Love the stuff.

9. Post-it notes. I’m addicted to the little sticky flags; as I’m morally opposed to writing in books (and I AM an English teacher, so I write a lot of notes about the books I read), I go through packages and packages of Post-it notes. I think the Post-it brand has much higher quality of paper and adhesive than the knock-off brands.

10. Even though there aren’t generics for these, the Chili family is exceedingly brand-loyal to Sony, Apple, and Volkswagen. I’m hoping to get a new laptop sometime soon; we’re loving our new Sony big-screen t.v., and I continue to be hopelessly in love with my VW Golf.

Next week, I’ll list the things which I am happy to buy as generics.

5 Comments

Filed under Little Bits of Nothingness, my oh-so-exciting life, ten things Tuesday