Daily Archives: May 24, 2010

Monday Meme

From my dealer, NurseExec.  Thanks, Honey!

1. When was the last time that you felt your world got turned upside down?
Last summer.  Helping my mother die was almost surreal.  I’ve got to tell you, too; sometimes, I wake up and forget that she’s gone, and that I’ve got to get back to her house.  I know this is going to come out badly, but I’m so glad that’s over.

2. Should the United States do more to help its own citizens before helping people in other countries?
Yes.  I find it profoundly hypocritical that we try to tell others how to fix their problems when so many people here are suffering needlessly.

3. What was something you memorized for school and still can recall?
I don’t know if I credit school as much as I do Schoolhouse Rock, but I can still recite the preamble to the Constitution.  I can also recite Shakespeare’s 116th sonnet:

Let me not to the marriage of true minds
Admit impediments. Love is not love
Which alters when it alteration finds,
Or bends with the remover to remove:
O, no! it is an ever-fixed mark,
That looks on tempests and is never shaken;
It is the star to every wandering bark,
Whose worth’s unknown, although his height be taken.
Love ’s not Time’s fool, though rosy lips and cheeks
Within his bending sickle’s compass come;
Love alters not with his brief hours and weeks,
But bears it out even to the edge of doom.
If this be error, and upon me prov’d,
I never writ, nor no man ever lov’d.

I’ll admit to having to look up the line breaks, but I know the poem by heart and can recite it on demand, with feeling.

4. With what types of people do you tend to associate?
I have a tendency to hang with a bunch of different kinds of people.  In fact, some of my friends wonder just how it is that I can stand some of my other friends, and I like that just fine.  All the people I care about have quite a lot in common, even if they don’t believe they do. They are willing to think, and to allow for the possibility that there’s more than one way to look at something.  All my people are funny.  All my people are reliable and genuine, and they’ve all got a wide compassionate streak in them (even if they hide it well).

5. Besides blogging, what is the last creative thing that you’ve done?
I made a yummy, bruschetta-type spaghetti sauce for Saturday’s dinner.

6. In nature, what outdoor activities do you enjoy the most?
Beachcombing.  I mean it; I leave the Cape with a neck stiff from looking for sea glass, but it’s SO worth it.

7. When was the last time that you had a great belly laugh?
Sadly, it’s been a while.  I ought to do something about that.

8. What kind of fashion-sense attracts you?
I find that I like different things on different people.  Really, fashion is less about what you wear than how you pull it off, you know?  I can tell you that I’m not down with the grunge look; some girls are trying that at school, and it’s all I can do to not come off sounding like a grandmother (“you’re SO pretty; why do you want to go around looking like that?“)  Also?  I don’t want to see your underwear.  Ever.

9. What traits in others turn you off?
I teach high school; you want a LIST?!  Right now, I’ve had it up to here with people who are addicted to drama.  I’m also pretty done with people who think that the rules don’t apply to them.  I could also very happily do without people who are only interested in fighting, who are so full of themselves that there’s no room in there for any critical thought whatsoever, and people who convince themselves of something and are completely unwilling to entertain the possibility that they might be wrong.

I have every expectation that it’s going to be a wild week, you guys.  Here’s hoping yours is less nutty than I’m betting mine’s going to be…

4 Comments

Filed under Little Bits of Nothingness, meme