Daily Archives: October 2, 2010

An Open Letter to the Universe

Dear Universe,

I’ve said this a million times, but I don’t know that I’ve ever said it out loud.  I’m not convinced that the vehicle of the message matters, but I’m not taking any chances, so here goes.

I am utterly and achingly heartbroken over the number of GLBT kids who decide every year that it’s better to kill themselves than to live another day in their skin.  I am grief-stricken over their belief that no one loves them – that they are unlovable – and furious to the point of insensibility that the people in their lives let those precious babies believe that they are broken, even to the point where they’d rather die than endure their lives any longer.

I am telling You, again and out loud, that I am out here.  If You see fit to send one of those precious kids into my orbit, I promise that I will do everything in my power to make sure they know that they are anything but unlovable.  I and my family will open our home and our hearts to this child; we will feed and clothe her, we will love and shelter him, and we will give them all that a strong, loving family can give.

I am holding that door open, so if You have a kid who needs me, just send them my way.  I’m ready.

Love,

Chili

p.s.  Please send special energy to all of the people involved in the It Gets Better project. May they reach these babies in time…

6 Comments

Filed under compassion and connection, concerns, doing my duty, family matters, frustrations, Home and Family, messages from the Universe, Parenting, ruminating, this is NOT a drill