Daily Archives: October 26, 2010

Ten Things Tuesday

Ten ways to earn my respect:

1.  Be thoughtful.  By this, I mean to literally think; I have a great deal of respect for people who aren’t afraid to dig in and wonder.

2.  Be considerate.  I admire people who are aware enough to realize that they are not the only people on the planet.

3.  Be loyal.  I have a particular affinity for people who are committed to their relationships, and especially for those who make it clear that their marriage (or the equivalent) is the most important thing in their lives.

4.  Be generous.  One doesn’t have to give THINGS to be generous; in fact, some of the most generous people I know are not the most well-off people I know.  Sometimes, it’s about the time or the energy one can give.

5.  Be attentive.  Little makes me feel better than having someone give me their full attention when I’m talking to them.  I love people who are willing to look me in the eye.

6.  Be thorough.  Follow-though is pretty important to me; I like it when people say they’re going to do something and then, you know, they DO it.

7.  Be compassionate.  This takes on so many different aspects that I have a hard time narrowing it down to a single idea.  I really love when people are paying enough attention to know what someone needs and how to give it to them.

8.  Be appropriate.  Of course, one is going to behave within one’s nature, but I am always drawn to people who know when to be serious and down-to-business and when it’s okay to cut a little loose and be a little silly.

9.  Be curious.  I can’t respect someone who is content to buy wholesale what someone else is selling without at least trying to read the fine print.

10.  Be kind.  I wonder if this isn’t the quality that garners most of my respect.  Kindness is so incredibly important, and I think far too many of us have lost sight of that.

3 Comments

Filed under Little Bits of Nothingness, ten things Tuesday