Monday Meme

Stolen, with all due love and gratitude, from Kwizgiver.

1. Tell us about your very favorite (yes we know that’s redundant) Thanksgiving. I don’t really have a favorite; they all kind of blend together.  Last year was kind of nice, even though I was sick.  It was the first year in almost 20 that we didn’t go somewhere else for dinner (and the first year we got to stay in our pajamas and watch football all day!).

2. What are you doing for Turkey Day this year? We’ll be enjoying Thanksgiving dinner at Mother Chili’s this year – about 5 minutes down the road.

3. If you were to go to somebody else’s house, what would be your favorite dish to bring? I always go to someone else’s house (well, except last year) and I bring creamed onions and some form of sweet potato.  This year will be no exception.  I’m thinking I may bring a dessert, too; I really, really don’t like plum pudding.

4. Tell us about the funniest person that you’ll be with this Thanksgiving. It’s a tie between Mr. Chili and Punkin’ Pie.  Something about the atmosphere at Mother Chili’s kind of dampens the funny, though, our holidays are not marked by carousing hilarity.

5. What would surprise us to know about your Thanksgivings? Maybe that my favorite part is getting to go home.  I enjoy the day, certainly, but I always feel relieved to come home and get in my jammies.

6. Does your usual mix of guests result in drama, or is it a group you’re happy to see? We have our own unique mix of happy drama.

7. What did your family do for Thanksgiving when you were a kid? Do you still do it? Thanksgiving was never a really big holiday when I was a kid.  Add to that the fact that my biological mother wasn’t exactly a great cook (she wasn’t exactly a good cook, come to think of it), and we’re left with a gathering of people who didn’t really like each other much eating so-so meals.  The one good thing about it was that the games were always one (it helped distract people who either didn’t want to talk to each other or didn’t have much to say).  With the exception of Auntie (who has Thanksgiving with her wife’s family), I don’t see any of my biological people anymore, so the answer to the second question is no.  I’m not bothered by that, though; Thanksgiving isn’t a big holiday for me and I’d rather see Auntie and The Girl on Christmas, so I don’t make a fuss about Thanksgiving.

8. We know you’ll be asked this probably 15 times this week, but share with us what are you most thankful for in 2010? It goes without saying (though I’m saying it, anyway) that I’m thankful for my family and friends and the health they all enjoy.  I’m also thankful for my job – I get to do something I love with people I respect and admire (and love) and it’s wonderful.  I’m also thankful that my little family still enjoys relative security in these uncertain times; that Mr. Chili and I still have jobs (and safe jobs at that) is nothing to dismiss.

9. Okay, the big question: are you going to ‘attend’ any of the “Black Friday” sales? …and if you are, are you hard core serious like the 5 am “be there” crowd? I am hoping to do almost all of my holiday shopping online this year.  I’m not a big fan of shopping to begin with; add to that crowds of fevered, impolite people and I’m out.

Happy Monday!

4 Comments

Filed under celebration, cooking, holiday, Home and Family, Little Bits of Nothingness, meme, my oh-so-exciting life

4 responses to “Monday Meme

  1. For the first time in quite a while, we are hosting Thanksgiving at our house. Preparations are already underway. Although I don’t cook, I do some of the routine chores associated with cooking. This morning I chopped onions for stuffing; my Honey gets really teary with onions, although I’m happy to do it anyway. I also am the designated grinder when it comes to homemade applesauce. And, of course, I am the designated cleanup guy in the cooking and eating departments.

    We’ll be having our girls, plus some friends this year.

    Wouldn’t it be nice, someday, for our little families to holiday together!

  2. Ah, Thanksgiving! A time when I get to tell one of my favorite stories;

    The Grinch Who Hid The Television.

  3. My parents and I are going out to a new local restaurant for Thanksgiving. It’s much easier than fussing for just the three of us. We’ll fuss at Christmas. And, oddly enough, we’ve been going out long enough that we run into the same families.

Leave a Reply

