Looking Forward

image credit

Even though I don’t do resolutions, per se, I do take this time of year to reassess my focus and goals.  What can I say?  I get caught up in the momentum of everyone else’s resolution making.  So, in that spirit, I’m going to take a few shots at finishing this sentence:

This time next year, I …..

… will be 20 pounds lighter, stronger, and more healthy.  Seriously; I need to get this under control, not only for my self-esteem, but also for my health.  I’ve been making little changes which, to talk to the professionals, is the way to do it; little, gradual changes are more likely to stick, and so far I’ve made a couple of good ones that are sticking.  Now I need to make a few more, like going to the gym a half hour or so earlier for my Sunday class to get in some weight lifting (and maybe a mile or so of walking).  I’m also adding in some short-burst workouts that I can do in my living room with a couple of hand weights and an exercise ball.  I can do this… I need to do this.

…  will have spent less time behind my computer screen while I’m at home. I have already started this; I’m reading more actual books and just this morning I started clearing out my feed reader of the blogs that I only skim.  I don’t want my girls’ primary recollection of me to be sitting at my desk behind my computer.

…  will have stressed less about things I can’t control. One or two of the blogs I’ve cleared out are ones that focus primarily on political issues.  I’m going to stop fretting over the dumbass things people say on the television.  I’m not going to engage people who plainly have no interest in discourse.  I will tactfully avoid people who try to undermine my energy, and will be more mindful about not allowing them to do that when they can’t be avoided.  The partner to this is that I’m going to get MORE involved in the things about which I CAN effect change, and I’ve already got some ideas around that brewing in my head.  I’m sick of feeling helpless and frustrated, so I’m going to do something about it.

…  will have spent more time with the people I love and care about. My one big disappointment this year was that I didn’t see nearly enough of the people who make my life feel full and complete.  It’s not that I put those people off, it’s that we’re all so busy with the details of our day-to-day that it’s often weeks (or longer) before we get in touch again, and I’m done with that.  I’ve already made dates with a couple of people I’ve not seen in too long, and I’m going to see what I can do about making a weekly visit with people like O’Mama and my grandmother stick.  It’s my connection to the people I love that makes up a significant part of who I am, and I’ve let that go for far too long.

…  will have cultivated and nurtured that which makes me me. As an offshoot to spending time with the people who complement my energy, I will take time to be mindful of the things I need for myself.  One of the things I tell my yoga people is that taking care of yourself is not selfish; we can’t give what we don’t have, and if we don’t take time to restock our own stores and give ourselves what we need, we won’t have anything to offer anyone else.  I have a lot of people who need me, and I want to give them everything I can, so I’m going to start heeding my own advice and working on manifesting my highest and best.

Five valuable (and manageable) things.  What are YOUR goals for the coming year?

3 Comments

Filed under celebration, compassion and connection, concerns, doing my duty, frustrations, health, Home and Family, Little Bits of Nothingness, messages from the Universe, my oh-so-exciting life, Parenting, reading, ruminating, technical difficulties, this is NOT a drill, Worries and Anxieties, yoga - theory and practice

3 responses to “Looking Forward

  1. Right now, my primary goals involve not falling to pieces. If I can make it to June, I’ll consider it a win. I guess that leaves my whole second half of the year for new resolutions, huh?

  2. I’m going to try to teach you to be more ruthless, for your own sake. :)

  3. Rowan

    Hmmm…I already pruned my blog list (mostly due to a computer crash), I like your other ideas, I’m thinking this year may very well be a turning point. At the least it’s a fork in the road…which shall I take?
    Happy New Year. May it be filled with peace, love, joy, and service for us all.

Leave a Reply

