We Interrupt This Blog…

…I’m busy, you guys. I’m busy getting the end-of-term stuff done, I’m busy spending time with my family, I’m busy, you know, living my life.

I’m committed to the blog, though, so today, you get this. I’m spending a lot of energy lately trying to figure out why certain people in my life (most particularly people between the ages of 13 and 18, but a couple of adults, too) are working REALLY hard to make things WAY more complicated than they really need to be and who are, as a result, miserable most of the time. My English classes spent a good portion of this week in discussion about why we seem to think that it’s much easier to be miserable than to be happy, and I find I spend a lot of my time trying to convince them that each requires the same amount of work, but one pays much higher dividends…

from survivingtheworld.net.  I’m not-so-secretly in love with Dante.

I’ll grant you that the path isn’t always nice and straight, but it’s rarely as convoluted as some people try to make it.  Just sayin’.

Happy Friday, Y’all!

5 Comments

Filed under admiration, compassion and connection, health, Home and Family, ideas and opinions, Little Bits of Nothingness, love notes, messages from the Universe, my oh-so-exciting life, Parenting, social issues, technical difficulties, this is NOT a drill

5 responses to “We Interrupt This Blog…

  1. jrh

    FWIW, I think it’s more socially acceptable to EXPRESS misery than happiness. We hear about it when people are upset. Especially when you think about the 13-18 year old population… peers react differently to “I totally failed that test… this sucks!” than they do to “I totally aced that test… this rocks!” So, I am not entirely sure that it’s easier to BE miserable, but it’s definitely easier to talk about it.

  2. I’ve probably said this before, but here is my view:

    If you decide you are unhappy, you’ll always be right.

    If you decide you are happy, you’ll always be right.

  3. JRH, I have experienced this in my own life. I have to be very careful to whom and how I talk about my marriage; most people think I’m either kidding myself or lying to them when I talk about how happy we are, and they give me the distinct impression that they just don’t want to hear it.

    Gerry, Ford said “whether you think you can or you think you can’t, you’re right,” and Tolstoy observed that “happy families are all alike; every unhappy family is unhappy in its own way.” I think these apply to this thinking, too.

  4. I don’t recognize the Ford quote, but of course the Tolstoy quote is from the first sentence of Anna Karenina. And yes, both of them are apt.

  5. Oregon Sunshine

    When you find the solution to the 13-18 yr olds’ issues, please share. I’d love in on the secret.

Leave a Reply

