Daily Archives: January 30, 2011

Possession

There are a lot of things about this whole parenting adventure that surprise me (and not always in a good way, either). Comedians joke about teenagers being brain damaged or possessed, and I’m starting to understand why. It’s one thing to think about the way teenagers are portrayed in books and film and t.v., though, it’s another thing entirely when it’s playing out in one’s real life.

Punkin’ had a really rough day today.

There is almost nothing predictable about what’s going to happen to set her off, we just know that something will. Today, it was picking a movie. Seriously; trying to choose a DVD to watch with her sister was enough to send her into a decline that involved, for the first time, physical violence as her dad insisted that she stay and work out what was happening.

The last time I saw her counselor, she told me that sometimes, the only reason for Punkin’s behavior is “because she’s a teenager.” There’s only so far I can go with that, though. We have another appointment tomorrow; I expect this one will be rough.

3 Comments

Filed under compassion and connection, family matters, frustrations, Home and Family, messages from the Universe, my oh-so-exciting life, Parenting, technical difficulties, this is NOT a drill, Worries and Anxieties, WTF?!

Quick Hit: See? It’s Not That Hard

Hat tip to Joe.My.God for the video.

Leave a comment

Filed under compassion and connection, doing my duty, duh!, GLBTQ/Ally issues, politics, social issues