Daily Archives: March 20, 2011

A Shift in the Universe

This morning, as I sat waiting for my Sunday yoga message, I got two very clear, very distinct images; the first was MLK’s quote (one of my favorites) that says “our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter,” and the other was Edmund Burke’s belief that “all that is necessary for evil to triumph is that good men do nothing.” I got goosebumps, so strong was this message, and I found myself welling up as I exhorted my yoga people to take their peace and compassion out in to the world with them. “Stand up and speak out,” I told them; we have this energy for a reason, and just because we can’t fix everything doesn’t mean we shouldn’t try to fix something.

My mother was absolutely sure that we as a species were heading for a tipping point. She explained to me that, energetically, we were reaching a crossroads where we would have either a critical mass of evolved beings who would thus usher in a period of cooperation and compassion, or a critical mass of “every-man-for-himself, my-way-or-the-highway” people who would lead us to our mutual destruction.

This afternoon, I went to visit my neighbor (and to offer her some cuttings of my orange goldfish plant that were ready for potting soil), and this very issue came up. She is certain, with all her energy, that we are, quite literally, on the verge of that tipping point; that sometime in 2011-2012, we will have sealed our collective fate one way or the other. As part of her commitment to that idea, she’s been talking about it to her friends and family, asking them not only whether they feel it, too (and I do), but also what they choose to do about it.

Then, this afternoon, Karen posted this entry. More goosebumps.

There’s a lot going on in the world right now. Between natural disasters (many of which happened a while ago and from which we’ve still yet to fully recover, much to our collective shame), the rise in violence and violent rhetoric both here and abroad, an increase in religious fundamentalism (and fanaticism) here and abroad, and the way we seem to have repositioned our national and international discourse (with pretty blatant attacks on the under-represented and weak), it’s pretty easy to feel hopeless.

I think, though, that there is a critical mass of caring, compassionate people – we’re just not the kind of people who make a lot of noise out in the world, so it’s hard to tell how many of us there are. I consider myself one, and I am blessed to share much of my life with people of boundless energy and compassion who are putting that energy selflessly into making sure the scales, when they tip, tip in the right direction (right about here is where I wish Elaina, Goddess of the Front Desk, kept a blog).

Here’s what I’m asking you, then, Dear Readers; what are you doing to push the balance toward advanced and evolved? What energy are you putting out into the world? If it comes down to it, what side will you come down on?

image credit

11 Comments

Filed under compassion and connection, doing my duty, health, Home and Family, ideas and opinions, messages from the Universe, ruminating, this is NOT a drill