Daily Archives: March 28, 2011

If You Can’t Say Anything Nice….

I’m learning, however slowly, when it’s best to just turn off the t.v. or push the back button on the web browser or to walk away from a discussion. It’s often difficult, as I’ve been feeling practically baited lately, but I’m getting the feeling that this is a lesson the Universe REALLY wants me to learn, and fast, because It’s been presenting me with multiple opportunities to practice this skill lately.

MULTIPLE opportunities.

All the time.

I saw this on Ilovecharts.com the other day, and it struck me as particularly relevant.

I sometimes wonder whether people realize how little they’re actually engaged in real discussions; I’m willing to bet that what most people think are discussions are really far more one-sided than they think. I’m learning that life is way too short to engage people who think that way, and I’m getting better at figuring out when to walk away before I waste too much of my precious time and energy.

Sometimes, though? It’s hard.

7 Comments

Filed under concerns, dumbassery, frustrations, messages from the Universe, my oh-so-exciting life, politics, social issues, technical difficulties, this is NOT a drill, WTF?!