Daily Archives: April 28, 2011

A Royal Wedding

Here’s the thing; I’m not at all swept up in the hoopla surrounding the upcoming wedding of William and Catherine.  In fact, I’ve been out of the news loop for a while now, having given myself permission to disengage from the media in general just prior to my vacation and not having had the guts to look too closely since I’ve been back, so I’ve missed what I’m sure has been a non-stop soaking of the airwaves with brainless prattle about dresses and invitations and what it all “means.”

I do have to admit, though, to setting my TiVo to record the proceedings.  I can’t help it; I’m a sucker for a wedding.

I’m not exactly sure what it is about weddings that delight me so.  Maybe it’s the ceremony – the ritual that gets repeated in varying incarnations over and over again as we seek to declare something intensely private in a blatantly public way.  Maybe it’s the hopefulness of weddings that I love; that, despite nearly overwhelming evidence to the contrary, we continue to believe in the idea that two people can make promises to each other that they will honor and nurture for the rest of their lives; I want to believe that others can have what Mr. Chili and I share.  I know a lot of what I love about weddings is the community of the event; people coming together to honor and celebrate and support each other in what I think are real and meaningful ways.  I’m sure that a lot of what I love about weddings is the finery of them, too; the beautiful dresses, the flowers, the shiny new rings.

So, even though I’m not an Anglophile and even though I don’t have any kind of personal investment in this wedding, I’m going to make arrangements to be able to watch at least some of it (I’ll record all of it and fast forward over the boring bits).  I’m planning a viewing date with O’Mama; I’ll make tea and cookies and invite her to bring her wedding album so we can remember and share our own happiest days while we wish this new couple every happiness.

10 Comments

Filed under celebration, love notes