Screw You, Tennessee

The Tennessee Senate has passed the bill that prohibits teachers in grades up to freshman year in high school from discussing homosexuality in any way.  Whether it will pass in the Senate and make it to the governor for a signature is anyone’s guess, but I’m not holding my breath that anyone in that body is going to do right by the children (or teachers, or citizens) of that state, either.  Call me cynical if you must, but I just don’t have that much faith in lawmakers right now (gee, Chili; you don’t say…)

I saw this the other day.  I continue to hold out hope that our dumbass, uptight politicians will someday give up on their war against people, and that the motivation to do so will come from the people who are sick to death of seeing their neighbors attacked, disrespected, and disenfranchised.

14 Comments

Filed under concerns, dumbassery, frustrations, General Bitching, GLBTQ/Ally issues, Home and Family, ideas and opinions, ruminating, social issues, technical difficulties, this is NOT a drill, Worries and Anxieties, WTF?!

14 responses to “Screw You, Tennessee

  1. The Puritans are still with us, they’ve been lying doggo for a long while, but now they are back to claim what they believe is theirs.

    The Puritan creed is based on the deep-seated fear that somebody, somewhere, is having a good time.

  2. You’re supposed to keep pretending that Republicans are good people, even though they are responsible for all of the evil things you keep posting about. Stop being mean to them!

  3. I saw this just a few minutes ago on the Comcast.net homepage and did a facepalm.

    Really, people? REALLY?!

    • Really, Falcon, really. I ask you again to reconsider your allegiance to these people…

      • Not gonna happen, Mrs. C. At the end of the day, the things that I disagree with about sterotypical conservatism are outweighed both quantitatively and qualitatively by the things I do I agree with conservatism about.

        In other words, there are far more things I like about conservatism than I dislike, and those things I dislike are lower on my priority list of issues than the things I like.

  4. Glad I have no plans to go tyo Tenessee this summer or any time at all.

  5. I have to pass through Tennessee in a couple of weeks. I’ll refraing from even thinking the word “gay” as I do. Hopefully, I won’t get pinched.

  6. Politicians will never give up their war on the people because they would have to stop being politicians to do so. When “the people who are sick to death of seeing their neighbors attacked, disrespected, and disenfranchised,” there will be no more politicians and it won’t be possible to use institutionalized violence against gay people. If we’re lucky, Jesus will kick things off by taking some of these holy people off the planet at 6 this evening (and by “holy,” I mean, “holy shit, how can you be so vicious and evil and say you’re doing it in the name of god?”)

  7. We had talked about maybe someday moving to Tennessee. I really loved it there when we made our move to Georgia last year. Well, not any more! No way are we moving there now!

  8. Darci

    But what about the students who discuss it in your classroom on a daily basis through derogatory name calling and stereotyping because they are so ignorant on the subject and threaten by what they don’t know? Will these students be ticketed and hauled before a judge for final sentencing? Kind of perfect!

    • Sadly, I don’t think it works that way. In fact, in my shriveled, cynical little heart, I believe that the whole purpose of this bill was to make it easier for people to disparage homosexuals and transgendered kids; if we can’t teach people to be tolerant, isn’t that giving tacit permission to be intolerant? The whole thing both sickens and enrages me.

  9. s parker

    Mr. Sulu rocks!

  10. Isn’t he AWESOME! I love him.

  11. Pingback: Fuck You, Tennessee « The Blue Door

Leave a Reply

