Resolute

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately – as I am wont to do right around the solstice and the turning of the year – about ways in which I can tweak my habits and behaviors to more closely align with my energy.

You see, I am a true believer in the limitlessness of our beings: I know for sure that we can be or do or manifest all the good we could ever handle, but that we haven’t figured out yet how to stop sabotaging ourselves to get it.  I know that I’m my own worst enemy; I have it in me to be infinite, yet I weigh myself down with unnecessary things and find excuses not to allow myself to express my highest and best self.

I also understand, though, that for all that we CAN change in an instant, we tend not to.  We (and I count myself among us) have far greater success in making changes to ourselves, our environments, and our energies when we take baby steps; smaller changes maintained over time become the habits that lead us to where we want to be (or, and sadly more often, to exactly where we don’t want to be).

That being the case, I am resolving to do one thing every day.

image credit, which is also the website where you can buy these pads of sticky-notes

That one thing may be cleaning out a drawer or walking for an hour or finally getting round to sewing the button on that damned blouse.  That one thing might be taking the stairs or donating old clothes or sorting through email files.  It may be taking a half hour to sit still and quiet, it may be rearranging my desk, or it may be making plans to spend a dinner with friends.  I don’t think it really matters what that one thing is, just so long as one deliberate, demonstrable, measurable thing happens every day.

So that, Dear Readers, is Mrs. Chili’s New Year’s resolution; this year, I am going to do (at least) one thing every day that makes my life cleaner, healthier, prettier, friendlier, and more satisfying.

image credit

(Do me a favor, would you, and ask me, every now and again, what my one thing was, just to keep me honest.  Today, I’m very productive; I’ve already cleaned out the cereal and bread cabinets in the kitchen – the tea drawer is next – and I’m planning on tackling my desk, too.  I’m kind of getting a jump on the “one thing” idea and trying to get as much done as I can while my motivation holds out.)

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Resolute

  1. This is a do-able resolution. I’ll be interested to follow you!

  2. Darci

    Love this…is there an app for it? I could imagine something like a Project 365 – so perfect. Since the 27th I have purged the linen closet, the bathroom, the laundry room, spice/baking/pantry cupboards as well as the office/craft closet. On to the desk and school materials today. I can breathe in my home and filled up 2 large bins at Goodwill.

  3. timberdawn

    Because I live quite a ways away from the closest town, I have organized my own “bins” – Goodwill donations, Foster Care Family donations, Food Bank, and Toy Drive. I think this will make it easier to have those things in one area to grab as I head out the door on a town run. I simply must claim this home as my own, before it claims what remains of my sanity. (I live in a home that my grandparents built, that my parents moved into with my Grandad after Grandma died and before I was born, that I moved back into in order to take care of Mom.) And as I say, no one has ever moved out of this house. They just died and left their stuff behind. This is the year. I. Will. Make. This. House. My. Home.

  4. It’s the end of the year, and as I almost always do, I watched the final goodbye scene from “Dances With Wolves.” One of the most poignant scenes I recall in the cinema. So, mrschili, do you know that your are my friend? You can see it on YouTube.

  5. Donna

    Happy New Year Mrs. Chili. May your dreams come true for you, your family, friends, and students!

  6. LOVE IT! Love the limitlessness of it… one practical thing or one metaphysical thing, doesn’t matter. Brilliance! Imagine how accomplished one would feel if each day contained one tangible accomplishment that could be looked upon with complete satisfaction.

    I may have to adopt this myself.

    Keep us posted on your progress – it will serve to inspire!

  7. Kwizgiver, help keep me on it!

    Darci, an app would be awesome! You know what we could do in absence of one, though, is to set a daily “D.O.T” alarm…

    Timberdawn, I’m thinking of putting a bunch of bins in the spare room for JUST this purpose; I have a ton of stuff that I don’t want/need anymore, but that’s silly to just throw away. I’m thinking freecycle and the homeless shelters, too..

    Gerry, not only am I familiar with that scene, but it’s part of my consciousness. Do you see that you will always be my friend?

    Donna, thank you; your good wishes for me are warmly and lovingly reciprocated!

    Mamie, I’m hoping that my “one thing” commitment will yield just the sense of accomplishment you mention here, and that one thing will lead naturally to more and more.

  8. needsatimeout

    I think I want to try this, but why does it scare me so?

    • You may be thinking too big, Honey. Start small. Wicked small. Have an apple instead of a croissant (that’s what I’m doing, though I’m not counting that as my “one thing” today because I think that putting Christmas away should be my accomplishment). Remember to floss tonight. Clean out your glove box or get rid of that one-task gadget gunking up your kitchen drawer. Turn off all your electronica for half an hour and just sit and breathe.

      The point is, it doesn’t have to be a BIG thing, it just has to be something mindfully undertaken that, once it’s finished, makes your life better in some way.

  9. I think you are right, I should probably start small. I also think it scares me because I like to plan things out so I am already thinking “okay tomorrow I can give up coke, today I will count to ten before reacting etc. I think if I am going to do this it might have to be a day by day activity and maybe a “spur of the moment” type thing until it becomes natural and I can look back and say “oh yes I turned the tv off and talked to my husband during dinner”

Leave a Reply

