Daily Archives: January 31, 2012

Ten Things Tuesday

Yesterday, my husband and I were talking about how stagnant our dinner repertoire is.  I heard on the radio once that people end up eating the same five things over and over again, but I think we’ve got more than five.  Let’s see if I can come up with 10 things that regularly appear on the Chili dining room table, shall we?

1.  Mac and cheese.  This is a staple in our household in the winter.  It takes me no time to whip up and dear Goddess, but it’s yummy!

2.  Spaghetti (or, in some cases, tortellini).  The feature here is my spaghetti sauce; it’s thick and chunky and, well, yummy.

3.  Chicken pot pie.  Again, a comfort food staple.  I got this recipe from my grandmother, and it’s another that I can put together in no time.  Pair it with cheddar garlic biscuits and you’ve got yourself a meal.

4.  Steak.  I finally figured out how to cook a killer steak indoors; usually, steak is a summer food because Mr. Chili cooks it on the grill.  I’ve got a fool-proof method for cooking it indoors now, and though it sets off the smoke detectors, we’ve decided that’s a small price to pay for the gift of this meal.

5.  Baked chicken #1.  For this, I saute some spinach with a little garlic and some mushrooms, pile it on top of chicken breasts, cover it with a slice of provolone cheese, and pop it in the oven.

6.  Baked chicken #2.  This dish involves dredging the chicken breasts in egg and bread crumbs, then sprinkling it with a little garlic salt and baking  it until it’s crispy.  Sometimes I’ll top it with the aforementioned spaghetti sauce, sometimes it gets a little bruschetta topping and some cheese, and sometimes it’s cut into strips and served with honey mustard for dipping.

7.  Soup and sandwiches.  My favorite version of this is Progresso hearty tomato soup and a grilled cheese sandwich made with fresh mozzarella and roasted garlic paste.

8.  Last night, I expanded our repertoire with a pretty successful shot at sloppy Joes.  I paired them with steamed snow peas and sweet potato fries, and the entire family thought it was yummy.

9.  I don’t do it often, but I make a mean bbq beef in the crock pot.  I slap a big helping on bulkie rolls and toss a salad, and dinner’s done.

10.  Every once in a while – we don’t do it often – we have breakfast for dinner.  I’ll put a pound of bacon in the oven to cook while I make waffles and eggs (scrambled for me and Bean, over easy for Punkin’ and Mr. Chili).  Sometimes, I’ll skip the eggs and have a bowl of oatmeal, instead.  I actually like breakfast for dinner; maybe that’s what we’ll have tonight….

What do YOU have for dinner?

13 Comments

Filed under cooking, Little Bits of Nothingness, my oh-so-exciting life, ten things Tuesday