Quick Hit: AT&T Long Distance SUCKS

I don’t imagine this is going to come as a surprise to anyone, but AT&T long distance service SUCKS.

Something that should probably also not come as a surprise to anyone is that I like to pay my bills on time.  This has gotten exponentially easier in the days of automatic bill paying and internet banking, and I pride myself on keeping our household finances in perfect working order.

Well, for the last year or so, I’ve been getting overdue bill notices from AT&T long distance.  The problem with this (beyond the obvious) is that I literally NEVER RECEIVE A BILL; I only ever receive the overdue notices.

I decided, this time, that I’ve had just about enough of this shit, so I called them to try to straighten it out.  I was just about to give up after being on hold for more than 18 minutes.  I almost think I’d get faster service if I just refused to pay the damned bill and had them cut off the damned service.  When I finally DID get someone on the line, I tried to explain that I wasn’t receiving any paper bills, the (oh-so-helpful) ditz on the other end of the line asked me for (I shit you not) the customer number ON MY BILL.

GAH!

It turns out that they’re sending electronic bills to an email address that we no longer use.  Fabulous.  Of course, I had to be transferred to yet ANOTHER department to stop that from happening anymore (and the person who answered THAT call, while lovely, didn’t speak very clear English.  I think she had curry for lunch…).

I WANT to dump the service altogether, but because Mr. Chili’s name is on the account and not mine, they won’t let me do that.

I swear to God.

4 Comments

Filed under dumbassery, frustrations, technical difficulties, WTF?!

4 responses to “Quick Hit: AT&T Long Distance SUCKS

  1. nhfalcon

    Feel free to come on over to Verizon anytime. I’ll be happy t ohelp you out! :)

  2. AT&T sucks- 5 GB is the MOST data I can get from them to tether to my laptop. I can’t watch 2 HD movies per month w/o going over that 5 GB limit. From unlimited to 5 GB- HUGE difference. The data revolution seems very cool, yet we’re all being suckered.

  3. I’m not talking about my cell service – that seems to be going just fine (knock wood). I’m talking about my house phone. I swear I’m THIS CLOSE to ditching the land line altogether.

  4. nhfalcon

    Verizon Wireless does land-line service now, too. Call, text, IM, email, or Facebook message me and I’ll give you the details.

Leave a Reply

