Daily Archives: April 9, 2012

Monday Meme

Boosted from my usual source:

1. What is your origin of your first name? What about any nicknames? My name means “beloved” in French, but that’s not why it was given to me.  Aside from “Chili” and “Mommy,” (and, occasionally, less savory terms), I don’t really have a nickname.

2. Have you any claims to fame? I work a stick shift like a race car driver and I’m a goddess in the kitchen.

3. If you were famous, how would you introduce yourself to someone who had never heard of you?  As graciously and humbly as I possibly could.

4. Which of your country’s achievements do you hold in highest regard?  HIGHEST regard?  That’s a tough one.  I’d have to say that the Bill of Rights is pretty awesome, and when we put our minds to it, we were able to manage some pretty remarkable scientific feats…

5. As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?  Happy.  I had no expectation of being thus, but that’s what I wanted.

6. What was your most prized possession as a child? Do you still have it?  I was given a teddy bear for my second Christmas.  He has a music box that still plays Braham’s lullaby (though badly; he is, after all, 41 years old)

7. What would you change about yourself, if you could?  I’d change my body’s stubborn refusal to lose weight.  Oh, and my nails’ tendency to split below the quick.  Ouch.

8. What are you obsessed with?  Dragonflies, blogging, and chocolate.

9. What is your greatest achievement so far, or the high point of your career?  Considering the example that was set for me as a kid, I am a remarkable mother.  I am most proud of my relationships with my daughters.

10. When/where were you happiest? I’m happy right now

11. And the lowest point in your life thus far?  The years between about 6 and 17.

12. What was the best decision you ever made?  Marrying my husband.  Of course, it was a no-brainer, but that decision has had the biggest impact on my life.

13. If you have any body modifications, which was most painful, or which do you regret the most? If you haven’t got any, do you have any planned, or would you ever consider getting any?  I had my ears pierced twice, though I didn’t find either event particularly painful.  I’m considering a white-ink tattoo, but I haven’t settled on something I love enough to carry with me forever and ever, amen, so that’s not happened yet.

14. What is the most idiotic thing you have ever done while intoxicated? I drove home once.  ONCE.  The next morning, I promised myself that I would never, EVER, do that again, and it is a promise I have kept.

15. What is your favorite joke?  It’s a lame English teacher joke about ending sentences in prepositions.

16. What is the coolest/most impressive thing you own?  I’m kinda loving my iPad

17. When did you last cry, and why?  I didn’t CRY, exactly, but the scene in Hunger Games when Katniss salutes Rue (and, by extension, her district) made me well up.

18. What’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever had?  “Remember that YOU get to choose who YOU are.”

19. Similarly, what’s the nicest thing anyone’s ever done for you?  I’ve had a number of wonderful people adopt me as their own.  Chosen family means more to me than anything else, and the fact that good people love me enough to claim me still brings me up short.

20. Have you any vices? I am a little too fond of chocolate and of wasting time.

21. Do you regret anything?  Truly; my only regret is inviting my biological parents to my wedding.

22. What is the best invention ever?  I’m going with Kwizgiver on this one: indoor plumbing

23. How would you describe your relationship with your family? Chosen family?  Wonderful.  Biological family?   With the exception of my sister (who also falls into the “chosen” category; I’d want her even if there were no genetics between us), nonexistent.

24. Who is your biggest inspiration?  There are a number of people I admire and aspire to emulate. 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized