Quick Hit: Thursday Bug

Kwizgiver posts things that bug her on Thursdays.  I’ve been crazy-busy today, so I’m stealing her idea.  Today, I’m bugged by the fact that my personal things have been vandalized and generally disrespected at school lately.  Over the last six months, the leaves of my plant have been stapled, an ugly epithet was carved into the table that my mother gave me before she died, and the disc that contains the driver for the printer I bought with my own money to keep in the classroom was gouged to destruction.  The latest discovery happened today; I found that the Cambridge SoundWorks speakers I brought in to use at school had been removed from my room and brought to the theatre space, where I found them in a broken tangle on the floor.

I’ve submitted a tersely written letter requesting that the speakers be replaced.  Part of my summer work is to secure my personal belongings in a lockable cabinet.

I am saddened.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Quick Hit: Thursday Bug

  1. lovindmutts

    *sigh

    I’m sorry that some people are jackasses (I recently read your post about “saucy” language- loved it!). Some people don’t realize or care that their actions affect others. They don’t realize that when something is ruined there are two options.. someone has to spend their hard-earned money to replace/fix it, or it’s just gone.

    The one I really felt badly about for you was your mother’s table. It’s an heirloom, and now it’s ruined. :(

    “If it’s not yours, don’t mess with it.” Too bad the next step in this logic escapes so many: “If it’s not mine, then it belongs to someone else, and I need to be respectful of it.”

  2. nhfalcon

    And you should be saddened (among other emotions). There is absolutely no call for any actions like that whatsoever. :(

  3. Improbable Joe

    Console yourself with the thought that the people who are victimizing you are most likely Christian. Half or more of them will grow up and vote Republican.

  4. Kwizgiver

    I’m reading this Friday morning (at school–shhhh) and as I entered my room, the custodians haven’t swept and I discovered that some of my belongings were likewise damaged. Only mine is a geranium which now has no flowers or new growth. I hate the idea that I will now have to lock my room whenever I’m not in it. :(

    I hope the speakers get replaced, at the very least.

  5. Don’t take personal items of value (emotional/financial) to the workplace. That’s my advice. Doesn’t mean I ain’t upset about the things you mention, or that you shouldn’t be, just being a realist.

Leave a Reply

