Monday Meme

Boosted from the Sunday Stealing website.

1. What is your greatest fear?  I’ve said this before; my greatest fear is unanticipated loss.  I can handle cancer diagnoses just fine, but the thought of a car crash or heart attack terrifies me.  If we’re talking not-so-greatest fear, I’m not fond of roller coasters or earwigs.

2. What are your religious views? I am a-religious.  I do not follow a faith myself, and I would just as soon not be subjected to anyone else’s.  I am VERY fond of the separation of Church and State and wish we were better at it than we clearly are.

3. State a random opinion?  Abortion should be safe, legal, and available.

4. What are your views on sex?  I like it.

5. Are you able to cook?  Exceedingly well.  I had good teachers.

6. In your opinion, what is the most evil thing any human being could do?  Dehumanize another human being.  Abject cruelty toward any living being disturbs me.

7. Do you believe in the existence of soul mates and/or true love?  I do.

8. What do you believe makes a successful life?  I measure my success by the number and quality of people who are willing to offer me their love and friendship.

9. How honest are you about your thoughts and feelings?   Too honest.

10. Do you have any biases or prejudices?  I do.  I’m not proud of it, but I do tend to think less of people who base their decisions and beliefs on their religion.  As soon as someone says “my faith tells me…” or “… the Bible says…” I bristle and start to shut down.

11. Is there anything you absolutely refuse to do under any circumstances? Why do you refuse to do it?
I refuse to lower my professional standards or compromise my principles for the sake of administrative expediency, and the reason why should be fairly obvious; if it’s not in the best interests of my students, I won’t do it.

12. Who or what, if anything, would you die for (or otherwise go to extremes for)? I go to extremes for a lot of things. Equality is a big issue for me. Freedom (both “freedom to” and “freedom from”) matters to me. Basic human dignity is important. I can’t go so far as to say that I could serve to further these things with my death, though; I’m not that important.

1 Comment

Filed under compassion and connection, Little Bits of Nothingness, meme, my oh-so-exciting life, politics

One response to “Monday Meme

  1. L B

    Mrs. Chili, I have been reading for years and just have to say that this post proves you so solid, just as you have been for years. You know the ground you stand on and you know the loves you love. Stay with it. I wish more of the people in each of our worlds could be so clear and present. Thank you. You rock, and you do make a difference, every single day.

Leave a Reply

