Ten Things Tuesday

I’m trying to circle in on ten things I want for Christmas, but I’m not there yet.  Maybe next week.

This week, you get 10 songs I can’t stand to have stuck in my head, courtesy of Wayfarer and Mr. Chili, who were doing their best to piss me off in the car last week.  Don’t bother trying to convince me that these are great songs; I frickin’ hate every last one of them (and no; I’m not linking to any of them; if you want to hear them, go look ‘em up yourself because I don’t need that shit stuck in my head, thankyouverymuch).

1.  You KNOW this one would be first.  Copacabana, by Barry Manilow.

2.  MacArthur Park, in any of its iterations.  What the fuck is that song even about, anyway?

3.  Tie a Yellow Ribbon by Tony Orlando and Dawn

4.  Refugee by Tom Petty.  I have a complex relationship with Petty; I like everything he’s done since Wildflowers, but everything before that makes me kinda cringe.

5.  I Shot the Sheriff by Eric Clapton.

6.  Born in the USA by Bruce Springsteen.  I figure this is the one that’ll be most heavily protested, but I just don’t like it.

7.  Kokomo by the Beach Boys.

8.  Easy Lover by Phil Collins.  There were a couple of his songs that I just can’t stand, and this is one of ‘em.  Funny, there are a number of his songs, especially with Genesis, that I absolutely adore…

9.  We Built this City by … who’s responsible for that abomination?  Starship, right?

10.  Do Ya Think I’m Sexy by Rod Stewart (though Mike Meyers doing it as Stuart Mackenzie in So I Married an Axe Murderer makes me laugh every time)

9 Comments

Filed under dumbassery, frustrations, General Bitching, music, my oh-so-exciting life

9 responses to “Ten Things Tuesday

  1. Kwizgiver

    I winced several times. I agree with most of it.

  2. nhfalcon

    Yeah, I’m with you on pretty much every one there, too.

  3. So, thanks for sticking “We Built This City” into my head for the whole afternoon.

  4. Rowan

    I agree, but I’d add that darn chipmunk song and grandma got run over by a reindeer. Lower case letters on purpose!

  5. Mr. Chili came home with the grandma song yesterday. It’s stupid, but it doesn’t stick in my head like some of the others do.

    Sorry, MAB. If it’s any consolation, I’ve got “Song Sung Blue” in my head right now; no fucking idea how it got there (nor how I’m going to get it out…). That should have gone on the list, too, but I ran out of room.

  6. You forgot Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head. Hee!

    I actually like a lot of these specifically for their kind of weird, old lady, campy quality. Not a fan of Springsteen, though, agree with you there.

  7. Wayfarer

    I’m surprised the Piña Colada Song didn’t make the top ten. I keep it on my mp3 player as punishment for my soccer team when they don’t do what they should. It’s right after You Decorated My Life, by Kenny Rogers, and To All The Girls I’ve Loved Before.

  8. And here, my dear friends, is Exhibit A.

    I only had 10 spots, Wayfarer. I suppose I could do another list…

  9. gerry rosser

    No argument with me about the turkey “Born In The USA.” I was going to offer “Honey” by Bobby Goldsboro. Oh, and anything by Bobby Vinton.

Leave a Reply

