Ten Things Tuesday

Today is O’Mama’s birthday.  Here are 10 things about her:

1.  My friend is such a dork.  She freely admits – out loud an in public – to lots of geeky obsessions; fan fiction, Dr. Who, Star Trek, that sort of thing.  I dig that about her.

2.  My friend has a very distinctive style.  She loves (and looks gorgeous in) clean, classic clothing accentuated by fun (but not too funky) jewelry.  Though she will deny this, I think she nearly always looks put-together.

3.  My friend shares my love of laughter, and it is true that when we get together, we laugh a lot.  It is also true that the people at the next table over in the restaurant most often have NO idea what the HELL we’re talking about.  I dig that.

4.  My friend appreciates the little things in her life (that, when you get right down to it, aren’t so little).  She is the only other person I know who is as happy in her marriage as I am in mine.  She loves her daughters while simultaneously being mystified (and sometimes horrified) by them, just like me.  She knows she’s got it good, and she’s conscious enough to stop every once in a while to appreciate it.  I REALLY dig that about her.

5.  My friend is a part of my foundation.  Even though we don’t see each other nearly as often as we used to – or as we’d like – I know that she’s ALWAYS there.  I can text her in the middle of the day, and she’ll respond.  I could call her at two in the morning, and she’d get in the car in her pajamas to be with me.  That sort of thing overwhelms me; I am honored and grateful to have that kind of stability in her.  I hope she knows she has it in me, too.

6.  My friend is smart; she is one of the most careful and critical thinkers I know.  Her input on the things we think about together is invaluable.  I am a smarter, better person because she shares her thinking with me, and I am profoundly grateful.

7.  My friend cares deeply about fairness and justice and basic human dignity.  The work that she does with her husband (the doctor) furthers her deliberate intentions to do good in the world.  I dig that about her.

8.  My friend is observant.  She has a way of seeing subtle connections, discerning motivations and consequences, and considering implications that reveal that she doesn’t miss much.

9.  My friend has a pointy sense of humor that I just love.  She has a way of highlighting the absurd in situations, she can clearly see the funny in a lot of life, and she’s a master at the deadpan ridicule of the inane.  She’s also not above pointing out the ridiculous in her own habits, and she does impressions (mostly of brogue Scots and old Jewish grandmothers) that crack me up.

10.  My friend is a genuinely good person who is constantly working to be even better.  She is self-aware and honest, and that’s a mighty rare thing.

Happy birthday, Bitch!  I love you!

bitch gps

2 Comments

Filed under admiration, celebration, compassion and connection, critical thinking, Friends, fun, funniness, Home and Family, love notes, ruminating, this is NOT a drill

2 responses to “Ten Things Tuesday

  1. Happy Birthday, you delicious dork!

  2. Thank you, my friend. Your friendship – and the many things we share – mean the world to me.

Leave a Reply

