Ten Things Tuesday

It is the 40th birthday of Roe v. Wade.  In honor of the day, I have some links for you:

1.  Are you familiar with the 1 in 3 Campaign?  You might want to check it out.

2.  Here is where I go when I need reliable sources for my information.

3.  Mother Jones does a lovely job of deconstructing the efforts made to erode Roe’s effect (with graphs and visuals).

4,  This is a great spot for a lot of different kinds of information.

5.  I’m in love with Planned Parenthood.  They get regular donations from me, I have a sticker on my car, and I fully support the work that they do.

6.  Turns out that poor women are more regularly denied access to abortion.  Shocker, I know.

7.  This is a good article.

8.  Here are some of the reasons why I’m pro-choice, in case anyone cares.

9.  And here’s a piece I put together about the many, many changes (and none of them good) that have been made to women’s access to reproductive health care (including abortion services) in the last few years.

10.  I saved the best for last.  Go check out what Kizz has to say here (another list of links) and here (her really eloquent treatise on the topic).

keep_abortion_safe_amp_legal_mug

3 Comments

Filed under celebration, Civics on Saturday, compassion and connection, concerns, doing my duty, family matters, health, Home and Family, ideas and opinions, love notes, memorials, messages from the Universe, my oh-so-exciting life, Parenting, politics, remembering, ruminating, social issues, this is NOT a drill

3 responses to “Ten Things Tuesday

  1. We took abortion out of the back alleys. Now I think we should take them out of the clinics and put them in hospitals and physicians’s offices along side every other legal medical procedure. Those who want to deny women their reproductive freedoms are succeeding by getting rid of clinics. Elective abortion is a legal medical procedure. Legal medical procedures should have access to hospitals.

  2. I agree. Putting it in an off-site clinic segregates it in a way that I think is dangerous.

    A quick look at my archives unearthed this bit, too: http://theinnerdoor.wordpress.com/2010/03/23/ten-things-tuesday-157/

    the comments discussion is a good one.

Leave a Reply

