Ten Things Tuesday

Ten things on my to-do list this week:

1.  Exercise.  I’m finding that I’m not liking it any more, but it is getting easier (which, in a sort of sick, ironic twist, means that I have to work harder to a.) motivate myself and b.) get my heart rate up to an acceptable level).  As of this weekend, I’m down 20 pounds.

2.  Thin out my facebook friends.  There are a couple of people for whom I’ve been holding open a door, and I’m done with that.  It’s been a year; it’s time for me to let go or be dragged.

3.  Submit MORE applications.  I’ve sent out 5 so far this week; I’m planning to get another 5 out before Friday.

4.  Have a visit/conversation with my in-laws.  In a completely unexpected turn of events, Father Chili was diagnosed with bladder cancer on Monday and is scheduled for surgery next Wednesday.  Keep in mind, the man is 91 years old, so the best they can give for a prognosis is “guarded.”  Please fasten your seat belts and keep your arms and legs inside the car for the duration of the ride.

5.  Have dinner with Anne from the health club.  I haven’t spent time with her in literally a year – maybe longer.  We were a lot closer when I was part of the group exercise team; since I’ve gone exclusively to the yoga/pilates side of things, we’ve lost touch.  She saw me on an elliptical machine the other day and stood there chatting with me for about 15 minutes, until we decided, “screw this; let’s meet for dinner.”  I’ll see her tomorrow.

6.  Have lunch with my yoga Weeble.  He’s been working in upstate New York for a few months now (and will continue to do so for the foreseeable future), but he’s home for this week, so I’m taking advantage.  I see him on Thursday.

7.  Schedule a date with my friend/mentor, Terry.  I need some professional encouragement, and she’s just the person I need to see.

8.  Convince Mr. Chili to buy tickets for us to see Vertical Horizon on the Cape this summer (and maybe convince Gerry to sneak out to see us while we’re there).

9.  Schedule doctor’s appointments.  I think the girls are due for their check-ups, and I’d like to have my blood re-worked now that I’ve lost 20 pounds.  I have the misfortune to hold very true to my paternal family’s genetic tendencies, so I have to keep a close eye on things like blood sugar, cholesterol, and hypertension.  The last test showed that my numbers were “acceptable,” but I’d like to see how the weight loss has affected them.

10.  Arrange a date with my husband.  I feel like we could do with some ‘us’ time.

How about you?  What’s on your to-do list?

2 Comments

Filed under concerns, doing my duty, family matters, General Bitching, Little Bits of Nothingness, my oh-so-exciting life, randomness, technical difficulties, ten things Tuesday, the jobs, this is NOT a drill

2 responses to “Ten Things Tuesday

  1. The “good thing” about cancer in oldsters is that their metabolism is slow so their cancer is usually slow. Surgery at 91 is a stone cold bummer, though. My love to them.

    I’m going to hear Neil Gaiman speak tonight and maybe getting something signed by him. The rest of the week is mermaid/birthday prep. Shenanigans aplenty!

  2. Congrats on losing 20 pounds! That’s really great. Also, sorry to hear about your father-in-law. Sending healing energy your way. The only thing on my agenda is to exercise, exercise, exercise!

Leave a Reply

