Daily Archives: September 11, 2007

Ten Things Tuesday

(Author’s note:  Today is a “twofer” Tuesday – there’s another new post below this one, in honor of the day…)

Ten reasons why I’m an outspoken GBLT advocate/ally:

prideflag.jpg

1. I didn’t choose to be straight. Gay, bi, lesbian and transgendered people didn’t choose to be gay, bi, lesbian or transgendered, either (I mean, really; who would choose to be a member of a group that is such a target for discrimination and hatred?). A lot of people I love are queer, and I hate that they can be targets of violence and oppression – or worse – simply for being who they are. How would you like to be discriminated against for just being who you are? Yeah; me, neither.

2. I was an advocate before I had children, but I’m even louder about it now that I have these girls looking to me as an example of how good adults should behave. I WILL NOT release closed-minded, hateful people into the world, and the more my daughters see me standing up for others, the better.

29600788v8_240x240_front.jpg

3. Love is love. It doesn’t matter if you love someone of the opposite sex or of the same sex because, really, love isn’t about sex.

4. The great Desmond Tutu teaches that none are free until all are free. Keeping rights and privileges from queer people threatens MY rights… and it threatens yours, too.

33775707_240x240_front.jpg

5. I can’t come up with a single valid reason for the terrible things that are visited on queer people; it’s all based on fear and ignorance. I make it my business to fight against the ignorance that fights against anyone – queer people included. God doesn’t hate, and neither do I.

prejudice.jpg

6. Diversity is what makes our world more fun and interesting. Some of the most interesting people I know are queer, and part of what makes them interesting is that they are different from me in that way. Instead of hating those differences – or fearing them – I celebrate them.

7. The U.S. claims to be the most free and open society in the world. While that may be true, we’re not really putting our proverbial money where our mouths are when it comes to queer people. As a conscientious citizen of this country, I think it’s important to point out those contradictions, loudly and as often as possible.

82044807v4_240x240_front.jpg

8. I don’t want to be associated with closed-minded people. I’m an advocate and an ally because I want queer people to know that not all straight people are uptight homophobes.

images1.jpeg

9. No war was ever won without help from the inside. There have always been spies and sympathizers behind “enemy” lines, and anything that I can do to pry open the gates and let some good guys in is okay with me. Oh, and I vote.

72496722v22_240x240_front.jpg

10. Isn’t there enough pain and hatred in the world already?

24967470_240x240_front.jpg

31 Comments

Filed under Friends, Home and Family, social issues, ten things Tuesday

Remembering

The other day, I was flipping through the channels as I was preparing to fold laundry (folding laundry is one of the most tedious jobs I do and I prefer to do it with a little bit of distraction, so I pour the clothes on the floor in front of the television set. Hey, whatever gets me through, right?).

I was always a very big fan of Third Watch. I found the characters to be compelling and the story lines to be believable, so when I found an old episode on A&E, I stopped to watch.

The segment was filmed after 9/11, and the central story line was about how a firefighter copes with her father’s body being recovered from the pile almost a year after the attacks. She had a complex relationship with her dad, and the fact that she chose the same profession as he did makes the nuances that much more interesting. She felt she had a lot to live up to when the man was alive; being able to live up to him now that he gave his life in the single most horrific event the country had yet witnessed made things just a tiny bit harder for her. She was also trying to reconcile how she felt about her dad. Yes, he was a hero, but he could also be a prick and kind of a rotten father. How to properly honor his memory was what occupied most of her thinking through the episode.

Tough emotional stuff.

I give you this on this day because of what one of the characters said as the episode was coming to a close. A group of firefighters was sitting on a picnic table at the chief’s house after his memorial service, the Manhattan skyline visible across the river. One of them comments on how he feels about the towers not being there. “You know, I’ll never get used to it. I always hated them. I thought they were butt-ugly. And now I miss them.

Then another firefighter delivers this speech and, by the time the closing credits rolled, I was weeping.

It’s been 233 days since September 11th. I’ve been to 28 funerals and memorial services, and I should have gone to more, but some days I just couldn’t face it. 233 days and in a few weeks it’s gonna be over. Everyone and everything that was gonna be found will have been found. Won’t be any place else to dig. And then we are just gonna have to walk away. And there will be a park with a marble monument with names that slowly stop seeming like real people. They’ll name a junior high school after somebody, but soon enough it will just be us. We will be the only ones who remember. That’s what we can do to honor the people we loved and lost. We can be the ones that remember.

I, for one, will never forget.

2beams.jpg

5 Comments

Filed under memorials