Daily Archives: September 30, 2007

JourneyMan

I watched the pilot of JourneyMan on TiVo last night. I liked it a lot.

Time travel stories have always messed with my mind. Star Trek was the first exposure I had to the whole time-travel-and-all-its-accompanying-conundrums idea, and despite go-rounds with the likes of Back to the Future and Outlander, I’ve still yet to figure out how to think about the problems time travel poses in ways that make any sense. I’ve read plenty of stories and seen plenty of movies that try to answer some of those questions for me, but I still come back to the whole “if you go back in time to fix a grievous wrong, then the grievous wrong doesn’t exist in your future to make you have to go back to fix it in the first place” issue.

My little brain can’t make that work.

JourneyMan plays a lot like The Time Traveler’s Wife. As in the novel, the main character of the new t.v. show, Dan, doesn’t have any control (that he’s yet discovered, anyway) over where or when – both along a time line or in his present – he goes (although, unlike the novel’s protagonist, Dan shows up wherever he is in his clothes and has yet to arrive at any time beyond his natural lifespan. Poor Henry could arrive anywhere on the globe at any time in the history of the world – from dinosaurs to the Roman Empire to yesterday, from Europe to South America to his own back yard – and he arrives butt-naked). Dan seems to be tasked to fix grievous wrongs, though, and the pilot was engaging and just mysterious enough to keep me coming back for more.

I’m looking forward to the return of old favorite t.v. shows – ER, Medium (I know, Gerry – but I like it), House, Grey’s Anatomy and the like – and am interested in a couple of new offerings, namely Pushing Daisies, Moonlight, Private Practice, and JourneyMan. From what I’ve seen of this show, I think it might be a keeper.

images-14.jpeg

3 Comments

Filed under fun, Little Bits of Nothingness, my oh-so-exciting life, television