As It Turns Out…

… my inner guru is named Dave!

Who’d a thought it?

Today was a mini-workshop on Kundalini yoga and because David was leading the workshop and because David loves to chant, it was a heavy on the singing.

I still haven’t figured out how to work my way around the whole chanting thing.  I understand that, for a lot of people, chanting is a calming, soothing way to clear out all the internal chatter and center one’s energy.  Really not so for me; at least, not yet.  I’m trying to keep an open mind about the whole thing.

Anyway, I’ve whined about chanting here often enough, so I’m not going to do it today.  What I wanted to tell you all was that I learned today that my inner guru is named Dave.

I was surprised to learn this.

David taught us this chant this morning:

Om guru, om guru, om gurudev
Jaya guru, jaya guru, jaya gurudev.

That last bit – gurudev – is pronounced, at least as we were taught it this morning, like “guru Dave.”

You know what?  I would never have guessed that my inner guru was named Dave.  I’d have thought her more of a Grace or a Celeste or, I don’t know – Chili?

2 Comments

Filed under funniness, strange but true, yoga - theory and practice

2 responses to “As It Turns Out…

  1. liv

    oh, i love kirtan!! please tell me you have all the snatam kaur cds. if not, you must email me so that i can send you some of her stuff.

    remember where your inner guru really is—in you, darling.

    but, guru dave is important. i have loved quite a few daves in my time.

  2. my youngest is name dave. maybe HE is my guru? he quite often thinks so….

Leave a Reply

