Daily Archives: June 6, 2008

F-F-Friday!

I have two pretty flower pictures and one question I’m hoping one of you can answer for me.

First, here’s the premier iris of the season!!

Since I took this picture, three of its sisters have bloomed too; I can see them out my window from here.  I’m going to see about planing more bulbs this fall – I really do love these flowers and would like to have more than just one isolated little clump of them in the back yard.

Second, here are the flowers that a tree at the end of our driveway produces:

(I’m actually a little surprised by how well this picture came out…)  Does ANYONE know what kind of tree this is? It’s entirely wild – we didn’t plant it here – and it grows kind of like a weed (it’s about twice the size today as it was a year ago). The blossoms smell HEAVENLY – they waft an almost honeysuckle-jasmine sort of sweetness that Beanie and I inhale greedily as we wait for the bus in the morning. I’d love to know what it is, and to see if I can transplant a few of the shooters it’s sending out so I can have more of these pretty things growing around my house.

Happy Friday, Everyone!!

11 Comments

Filed under backyard wildlife, F-F-Friday, learning, Questions