Guest Post:Thirteen Things on Thursday

Today’s post is brought to you by Darci who, I think, should have a blog of her own, don’t you?

Here are 13 things that have crossed my path over the week:

Summer Television
: So, between the watching of CSI reruns on TiVo and catching up on missed silly rental movies, the family and I have become addicted to 2 of the silliest of shows of the summer – Wipeout and Legally Blonde: Search for Elle Woods, which is now over and we are missing it. I really need a life.

Iced Tea: the true drink of the summer. I love good old-fashioned, unflavored, brewed iced tea. Since school has been out I make a pitcher of iced tea and a pot of coffee each morning.

Air conditioning: We did not have air conditioning until 3 summers ago. I live in the San Fernando Valley region of Los Angeles, Ca. It is hot…really…really…hot. Goodness, do I love being able to during on the AC when in the afternoon, knowing we will actually be able to sleep in the night.

Daily Chores: Makes the beds, run the vacuum, empty/start the dishwasher. I feel like Cinderella often…I hate chores – hated them when I was a teenager; hate them as an adult.

Books: Reading The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I am struggling to find the story but I am getting there. It might be the issue of the husband is re-watching “Band of Brothers” and I am reading a book wrapped in the same time period. Might be a bit too much war and desperation. I am also reading Wherever You Go There You Are by Jon Kabat-Zinn. Everyone needs a little mindfulness these days. I am working to get out of this paralysis of not moving forward. I need to look here not there or over there either…just here.

Knitting: Love my craft. The concept of having multiple projects weighs heavy on my mind so I am working towards finishing up and staying a bit more monogamous. I have a baby blanket and a 2nd sock on the current rotation with 2 toys and a couple sets of mitts as well as a dog sweater for my mom waiting in the wings.

Husband: He is the bomb but this week he has made me crazy….I need the school year to start so I can qualify my business instead of it being a figment of his imagination.

Daughters: I have the yen and the yang of daughters. One is a social butterfly who must be moving and shaking…One is happy to be by herself. I wonder if that is really true of either of them.

Volunteering: It is who I am. Why do people questions my motives or my methods in where I put my time? My husband and I are very involved in our daughters’ soccer club and I in their high school. We do it because we want to, it is our church, it is our family. We model to our girls how to give back – you do not get to just show up. Damn it is tiring at times.

iPhone: I love my phone….Is that bad? I have the lowly first generation but damn the new software is cool. I mean who can not be giddy over having their own personal Lightsaber

Pets: I have 3 dogs who have no clue they are dogs…who is going to break it to them? Not me!

Scooter: This will be my new transportation to school in the fall…Red, thank you very much.

Housekeeping: I suck at it and I do not care. Don’t get me wrong I love a clean house – I just hate the work that goes with it. I need a 1950s wife…the perfect solution.

Bio: Darci is a wife, a mom, a sister, an aunt and a friend. She loves to read, knit and soccer. She has too much time on her hands. While currently blog-less she is working towards launching something soon…after she does her daily chores, finishes knitting projects and creates lesson plans for next term.

8 Comments

Filed under Friends, Guest Post, Little Bits of Nothingness

8 responses to “Guest Post:Thirteen Things on Thursday

  1. whodoesshethinksheisanyway

    It is not wrong to love your iphone! I love mine! Have you read The Power Of Now? That is a good one. And who cares about how your house looks or how you spend your free time! It’s your life woman! Do what you want!

  2. When you get your own blog (WHEN!) we need pictures of those dogs please.

    You’re going to love that scooter. Everybody’s using them these days and for good reason.

    I don’t get how the lightsaber thing works but I really want to find out!

  3. I just started learning how to knit this weekend, and I now realize how addicting that hobby is.

  4. Great post! Mrs. Chili is right–you definitely need your own blog! :-)

  5. twoblueday

    Speaking of re-runs, the more forgetful I get, the less boring they are!

  6. Heh, Gerry – you reminded me of a REALLY lame ad campaign that NBC ran a few years back; “If you haven’t seen it, it’s new to you!!”

    Puh-leeze!

  7. Jan

    Woohoo, my sista!

  8. Darci

    Thanks for the love, people.

    I am playing around with some blogs and will post when I “find” something.

Leave a Reply

