Daily Archives: February 8, 2009

Girl Time

I don’t have anything particularly exciting to report about this weekend, but just because it wasn’t exciting doesn’t mean it wasn’t delicious.

Punkin’ Pie had a sleep-over and Beanie went to play with the Bowyer boys so Mrs. B and I could have some grown-up time.  We headed into Quaint Coastal City, found great parking, and went straight for O’Mama’s favorite pizza place.  The offerings were, as per usual, outstanding, and Mrs. B and I heartily enjoyed a great bit of yumminess for lunch.

After our nosh, we started strolling the main street of QCC.  We ducked into a few shops and made a few purchases (in fact, I bought O’Mama’s birthday present already – I walked into the first shop we stopped into and this thing practically SCREAMED at me.  Now it’s hers.. or, it WILL be at the next gift-giving occasion – and yes, O’Mama, you’re going to have to wait.  *I* have willpower…).

We took a bit of a detour to the bead shop, but were uninspired.  I wanted to duck into a little Asian-themed shop (I’m in the market for a Tibeten singing bowl) but the place was empty and closed up and there was a “for rent” sign in the window.  Sigh.  No singing bowl for me just yet.

We meandered our way back through a few more shops, then stopped into another of O’Mama’s (and my) favorite places for pastries and hot cocoa.  This little shop puts something in their cocoa that I can’t identify – it’s not cardamom, and I don’t think it’s nutmeg, but I’m not sure.  Next time I’m in there, I’m going to ask.

Cocoa consumed, we wandered through a few more shops on our way to the car.  We picked a VERY talkative Beanie up and came home for a munchie dinner (we had some of the left-over pizza) and wine and an evening of toenail painting.

For all that my piggies are out on display as a consequence of my gig as a yoga instructor, I almost never paint them.  Well, the girls not only convinced me to adorn my toenails, but to adorn them in the same OUT LOUD MAGENTA! that they used.  Observe:

img_2493

*my toes are the ones on the top left, in case you were wondering…

I even got creative and put a little decal on the big toe nail.  It’s a flower with a tiny sparkly in the middle, and I think it’s cute.

The rest of the evening was spent chatting.  It was wonderful.  (Oh, and just for the record, Mrs. B thinks I AM a christian (a “little c” christian).  As far as I’m able to understand, her contention is that a christian is someone who lives according to the teachings of Christ – you know, kindness, compassion, that sort of thing? – and not necessarily someone who accepts Christ as a savior or who toes a particular party line.  It’s an intriguing concept to me; I’m going to have to think about it a bit more…)

Today, Mrs. B gamely attended my (PACKED!) yoga class and told me that she enjoyed it a great deal – and felt completely successful.  Nothing could have pleased me more.  We came home, made some fantastic breakfast-for-lunch (thick-cut bacon and scrambled eggs with pancetta, cheese, and scallions.  Oh, and Mrs. B’s banana bread with cranberries.  YUM!!).  After a little bit of settling, we headed out to outlet malls in search of some specific wardrobe items, but came up empty.  No matter; we enjoyed the hunt (and Bean was a TROOPER for tagging along).

After we picked Punkin’ up from her sleep-over, we headed back to Chez Chili and Mrs. B packed up her stuff and headed back home.  It was wonderful to get to spend time with my friend, and we’ve promised each other that we’re going to schedule another play-date sometime very, very soon.

4 Comments

Filed under celebration, compassion and connection, Friends, fun, love notes, yoga - theory and practice