F-F-F-F-F-F-F-Friday

I mentioned once, a while ago, that I play a little game with myself to see how many Fs I can legitimately put into Fucking Floral Friday titles. Today’s is “Fabulous Friendship, Fantastic Fungi Fettuccine, Fucking Floral Friday.

First, the fabulous friendship. Ms. Sooza and her woman folk are coming to visit tonight (I’d thought it was last week, but it turns out I’d misunderstood our plans). Her girls love my girls, and the feeling is decidedly mutual; as a matter of fact, Punkin’ Pie is busily cleaning her room in anticipation of the Wayfarer Girls’ arrival (and sleep over party). I’m looking forward to having one of my oldest friends in my house for the evening; the guest room is ready, dinner is in the making, and I’m slightly giddy with anticipation. Mr. Chili is going to be otherwise occupied with the latest SU basketball game tonight, and I have visions of Sooza and me curled up on the chairs in the great room with big glasses of wine in our mitts.

The fantastic fungi fettuccine refers to dinner – well, half of it, anyway. I’ve put together a big old pan of this for Sooza and me to dig into tonight. The rest of the clan is, at best, lukewarm about mushrooms, so they’re getting a pan of homemade mac and cheese (which, let’s be honest, doesn’t suck, but I’m really looking forward to the mushroom pasta). Since no one in my immediate family likes mushrooms very much – and since this stuff doesn’t freeze well at all – I only break this recipe out when someone who does love mushrooms comes to visit. Yet another in the long list of reasons I love Sooza is that she likes mushrooms, and I’m practically salivating at the idea of tonight’s dinner. Mmmmm.

Finally, here’s the fucking flower. It was a TOTAL impulse buy in the grocery store this morning. I was thinking that I’d pick up a bunch of carnations or something, both for the joy of having them and because I needed a flower for today’s post, but there were literally no bouquets of anything by the market’s front door – perhaps the cut flower people are a little behind on filling the store’s order. I thought I’d have to resort to taking a picture of the silk forsythia and daisies I have in the front door wreath, but then I walked by this pretty little thing. I discovered, last year at Gerry and Honey’s place, that I love begonias. Now I’ve got to do a little research to see if I can learn how to keep her alive (and blooming); I’ve been having quite a run of really great houseplant luck lately, and I’m hoping to branch out a bit beyond African violets, Christmas cacti, and spider plants.

img_2916

Happy Friday, Everyone!

4 Comments

Filed under celebration, cooking, F-F-Friday, Friends, fun, Home and Family, love notes, my oh-so-exciting life

4 responses to “F-F-F-F-F-F-F-Friday

  1. The flowers are beautiful and it sounds like you will have a wonderful evening. The pasta looks unbelievably delicious, but I’d be the only one eating it at my house.

    Enjoy the weekend!

  2. kizzbeth

    I’m hungry.

  3. Beautiful flowers! Hope you have a magical weekend.

  4. Organic Mama

    FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFABULOUS! Enjoy the food, friending and flowers!

Leave a Reply

