Monday Meme

A list of 100 movies, from Yahoo by way of NurseExec.  That reminds me; I’ve got to continue chipping away at MY 100 Movies list.  Maybe tomorrow’s Ten Things Tuesday will see another installment in that effort….

12 Angry Men
2001: A Space Odyssey
400 Blows
8 1/2
A Hard Day’s Night
African Queen
Alien

All About Eve
Annie Hall
Apocalypse Now
Battle of Algiers
Bicycle Thief, The
Blade Runner
Blazing Saddles

Blow Up
Blue Velvet
Bonnie and Clyde
Breathless
Bridge on the River Kwai
Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid
Casablanca
Chinatown
Citizen Kane
Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon
Die Hard
Do the Right Thing

Double Indemnity
Dr. Strangelove
Duck Soup
E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial
Enter the Dragon
Exorcist, The
Fast Times At Ridgemont High
French Connection, The
Godfather, Part II
Godfather, The

Goldfinger
Good, the Bad, and the Ugly, The

Goodfellas
Graduate, The
Grand Illusion
Groundhog Day
In the Mood For Love
It Happened One Night
It’s a Wonderful Life
Jaws
King Kong

Lawrence of Arabia
Lord of the Rings, The
M
M*A*S*H
Maltese Falcon, The
Matrix, The
Modern Times
Monty Python and the Holy Grail
National Lampoon’s Animal House
Network

Nosferatu
On the Waterfront
One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest
Paths of Glory
Princess Mononoke
Psycho
Pulp Fiction
Raging Bull
Raiders of the Lost Ark
Raise the Red Lantern
Rashomon
Rear Window
Rebel Without a Cause
Rocky
Roman Holiday
Saving Private Ryan
Schindler’s List

Searchers, The
Seven Samurai
Shawshank Redemption, The
Silence of the Lambs, The
Singin’ in the Rain
Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs

Some Like It Hot
Sound of Music, The
Star Wars
Sullivan’s Travels
Sunset Blvd.
Terminator 2: Judgment Day
Third Man, The
This is Spinal Tap
Titanic
To Kill a Mockingbird
Toy Story
Usual Suspects, The

Vertigo
When Harry Met Sally…
Wild Bunch, The
Wild Strawberries
Wings of Desire
Wizard of Oz, The
Woman On the Verge of Nervous Breakdown
World of Apu, The

I find this list (as I find most lists) decidedly lacking.  Oh, well; that’s why I’m putting together MY list, I suppose…

Happy Monday, Everyone!

8 Comments

Filed under Little Bits of Nothingness, meme, movies

8 responses to “Monday Meme

  1. Yeah, you do need to work on your list … :)

    I’m assuming that the bolded ones are those you’ve seen? 12 Angry Men really is quite good.

  2. You haven’t seen All About Eve! Get thee to Netflix immediately! It’s one of of Bette Davis’s best films.

    I agree that this list is lacking. But it’s also reminded me of some of my favorite films that I haven’t seen in a while. Hmm…I wonder what I’ll be doing on the next rainy day?

  3. de

    I’m pretty surprised at some of these that you have not seen, but I would not categorize all – or even most – as “must sees.”

    I always enjoy your lists – your reviews are good.

  4. i find some of your un-bolded titles surprising, but then i have a number of movies that i’m sure people expect me to have seen that i haven’t too. so… i don’t know what that says. probably nothing.

    it’s monday and i am very angry about school things and i’m not thinking too clearly. sorry – i shouldn’t comment in this mood huh? still, thanks for sharing the list.

  5. Lily, I’m on it! Check back tomorrow.

    Dingo, it’s raining today, isn’t it?

    De and Lara, tell me which titles that I’ve not seen surprise you, and why, please?

    Lara, I’m sorry that you’re having a crappy day, but don’t EVER let that keep you from checking in here; I happily take you however you are.

  6. mabnyc

    Actually, as far as lists like this go, I don’t think it’s that bad (and not just because I’ve seen 93 of them). Naturally, I’d change things, but who wouldn’t? The only serious question marks on here for me are “T2″ (hated it), “When Harry Met Sally” (fun but not essential) and “The Shawshank Redemption” (a decent but highly overrated film, in my opinion).

    Oh, and if I had to pick 5 of the non-bolded for you to see first? Here they are:

    1. Dr. Strangelove
    2. Nosferatu
    3. Raging Bull
    4. Paths of Glory
    5. The Third Man

  7. I’ve seen 47 on the list. Saw Dr. Strangelove because MAB made me. :)

    Of the Terminator movies I think T2 is the best and I did really like it. I think Harry Met Sally is essential because it’s referenced so often. Got to agree about Shawshank, though. It’s not even my favorite movie adapted from a Stephen King story.

  8. Xena

    A lot of good films here. I’ve seen 70 of them, but this is my top 10:

    1. 12 Angry Men

    2. All about Eve- classic Davis “Fasten your seatbelts. It’s going to be a bumpy night.”

    3.Bonnie & Clyde

    4. Butch Cassidy & the Sundance Kid- This is why “The Sting” put Redford and Newman together again.

    5. Goodfellas

    6.It Happened One Night- A racy movie at the time.

    7. Lawrence of Arabia

    8. Raging Bull-

    9. Sound of Music-It’s a catchy musical you’ll be singing for the next week even if you hate the songs. Personally, I like it when people break out in song for no apparent reason.

    10. Some like it Hot

Leave a Reply

