Daily Archives: April 9, 2009

Clean Cars, Wrecked Surprises, and Giddy Expectations

It’s been a day, y’all, and it’s not over yet.

The first part of my day was pretty mundane; washing dishes, bread baking, making muffins out of the three bananas that were starting to try to camouflage themselves against my black counter top, the usual.  Nothing much to report, unless you’re into that sort of thing.

I went to Local U. to teach my yoga class (and the Parking Goddess, glorious, fabulous, and generous bitch that she is, took good care of me again!  THANKS, Baby!) and, after, went to lunch with my beloved.

Here’s where it all went a little wrong.  I  need to backtrack.

A few weeks ago – just about when Auntie started going on about spring training and opening day -  I got it into my head that it might be nice to send my beloved, along with a couple of his oldest and dearest, to a baseball game.  I contacted those oldest and dearests to inform them of my thinking.

Well, BoBo has changed email addresses recently, so his part of the message, which I sent using the old address, got kicked back to me as undeliverable.  Figuring it was the quickest way to reach him, I fired off a “what’s your email address?” text.  He responded while Mr. Chili was in the room with me.

Who’s that?  What’s he want?  Why is he texting you?”  The questions went on.

Then, the other day, the OTHER oldest and dearest (Dudley, by name) called me to let me know about a detail in the plans.  Mr. Chili happened to be in the room when he called.  I handed the phone off to Mr. Chili, so the two of them could talk about the Sox game, and later told him that Dudley had hit my cell phone on the list instead of his by mistake, but he clearly didn’t buy it.

So, this afternoon, I’m driving him back to his office when it starts again.  “Why did BoBo text you?  Why is Dudley calling YOU?  What’s going on?  You suck at lying; I know something is going on – what is it?

OH, for the LOVE OF CHRIST!  FINE!  You want to know what’s going on?  I was TRYING to get the three of you together to see a Sox game, and I needed to know when they were available to come up.  You happy now?  I can’t do a SINGLE nice thing for you without your knowing about it ahead of time!  GRRR!

I love him.

He’s a pain in my ass.

After lunch – and while I was still fuming a little – I decided to get my car washed.  That’s helped my mood considerably.  Now, the Puck is all shiny and clean and awaiting my assault with the Shop-Vac.   I’m hoping that the bit of carpet cleaner I sprayed on the spot where Punkin’ let a Lindt ball melt all over the seat will be effective.  Wish us luck.

After the girls and Mr. Chili return home, we’ll take my newly-cleaned baby halfway across the state to have dinner at Bertucci’s with Auntie and The Girl!  I cannot WAIT to meet her, and I’m practically beside myself with anticipation.  While The Girl has stated that expectations are merely “premeditated resentments,” that’s not stopping me from fully expecting that we’re going to have a wonderful time, that we’ll understand within minutes why Auntie’s been so happy lately, and that The Girl’s going to melt seamlessly into our family.

So there!

10 Comments

Filed under celebration, cooking, dumbassery, family matters, Friends, frustrations, funniness, Home and Family, Little Bits of Nothingness, road trip!, strange but true, technical difficulties