Quick Hit

The hospice nurse just left.  She thinks Mom is very close.

I wasn’t surprised that she’d think that, but I was a little surprised to hear her say it as plainly as she did.  So far, she’s sort of hedged on everything; she’s been very careful to say that “everyone’s experience is different” and “there’s no time table or one way to do this.”  I understand and respect why she’s said those things, and haven’t pushed for more than she was willing to say.

Today, though, as she observed Mom’s irregular breathing, she told me that she thinks Mom is about as close as one can be without actually crossing over.  It’s a feeling I’ve had for a while now, and it’s good to have it validated by someone whose job it is to help people do that crossing.

I’m okay.  I’m ready, and I’m glad I’m here.

10 Comments

Filed under on death and dying

10 responses to “Quick Hit

  1. Again, so glad for your break that helped put you together again, and REALLY glad for the medication increase for your mom.

  2. jrh

    I’m glad you’re there too. And especially glad you’re there the way you are… okay, refreshed, loved, loving, ready… Know that we’re all here when you need us. Love!

  3. To all things there is a season. Sending love and care your way.

  4. I agree with the others. I am so glad you had this break so that you could come back refreshed and ready (as one can be) for this next step.

  5. mccgood

    Thinking of you!

  6. I’m thinking of you and praying for a peaceful journey for your mom.

  7. Thinking of you and your mom…

  8. Laurie B

    Just keep breathing and exhaling. Carry to your Mom the salt air and freedom and love you’ve experienced the past few days. She’ll understand that huge energy in your heart and the love you are able to give and receive in your world.

    Mom may be close, that she is controlling her pain more through medication is huge. I’m glad that you got away, I’m also glad that you are back and recovered enough that you are ready for whatever comes next.

    We were at the ocean today, we had a wonderful day. I was carrying you both in my joy.

  9. Organic Mama

    I love you.

  10. Angie

    Watching a loved one cross over is extremely stressful. So glad you had the chance to relax and recharge. Sending you a big hug.

Leave a Reply

